G5 Quad Monitors

shred444

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 23, 2005
25
0
Im running a g5 dual 2.0 with a dual monitor 19'' display using both dvi slots in the back. I now just bought two more displays and im trying to use them through a pci video card in the back. I bought a radeon 9200 PCI dual monitor card...does anyone know if this will work? has anyone tried running dual video cards with a mac? I know it works for a pc....but thats a different story.


- shred444
commotiondesigns.com
 

Platform

macrumors 68030
Dec 30, 2004
2,879
0
There has been some pics here on the forums......PM with 3 ACD displays with the PCI card for the 3rd ;)
 

shred444

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 23, 2005
25
0
Sun Baked said:
All depends on the video card you currently have and the power requirements of the 9200.

The top end cards deplete the PCI slots power supply and leave only 30W for all the PCI slots.

https://forums.macrumors.com/posts/1582569/
yea its not a very high end card....it can handle some gaming and most 3d apps. so i dont think this will be a problem


does anyone know where those pics are?
 

Mord

macrumors G4
Aug 24, 2003
10,090
21
UK
the 9200 only has one dvi port and one vga port so if your useing flat panels you'll want a second 9200, and it'll be faster.
 

Mord

macrumors G4
Aug 24, 2003
10,090
21
UK
if you flash a pci 5200 it would work, but i have only heard of one report of it working, most of them use strange roms, also the 5200 is generall slower than the 9200 but not the 5200 ultra.
 

shred444

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 23, 2005
25
0
what is flashing a video card? is that like flashing the bios?

im pretty sure the 9200 can handle pretty much anything you throw at it. some games of course would be out of the question, no doubt.
 

erroneous

macrumors member
Jul 25, 2004
55
19
I have a 2x1.8G5, with a 6800GT main card (recently replacing a 9600XT) running 23" and 20" Apple Alu panels, and a 9200 pci secondary card running a 17" 1280x1024 Sharp lcd (needed a panel with a secondary VGA input to switch a PC through). Sometimes had the TV out on the 9200 running through a TV elsewhere in the room which I guess makes four. :)

The 9200 doesn't support QE by default, so I initially found having it active slows down the Expose/Dashboard transitions on all displays. If you force QE on the 9200, then Expose etc run fine, but large-area screen updates on the 9200 display are relatively slow; if I place a Safari window across the join between my 23" and the 17", spacing down a large document - eg, an LJ friends page - clearly lags behind on the half of the Safari window being output on the 9200 17" display. Playing avi/divxs, or an EyeTV output window on the second panel causes the video run at about half the normal frame rate. Reducing playback window sizes helps, but it's obvious that QE isn't coping well with the PCI interface. Effect seems true under Panther or Tiger.

Keep meaning to turn QE back off again, to confirm the lack of acceleration improves video/redraw performance, but well, I like my expose transitions. :)

Upshot, you can do triple/quad monitors, but don't expect too much from the displays on the PCI card.
 

dsharits

macrumors 68000
Jun 19, 2004
1,639
0
Plant City, FL
My MDD runs three displays on an AGP 9800 and a PCI 9200, and I could easily add a fourth if I wanted to. It works just fine, and it shouldn't be any different in a G5.
 

shred444

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 23, 2005
25
0
very nice. i like to hear good news. i should be getting that 9200 pci card by the end of this week, so ill keep you guys updated
 

Lollypop

macrumors 6502a
Sep 13, 2004
829
0
Johannesburg, South Africa
erroneous said:
I have a 2x1.8G5, with a 6800GT main card (recently replacing a 9600XT) running 23" and 20" Apple Alu panels, and a 9200 pci secondary card running a 17" 1280x1024 Sharp lcd (needed a panel with a secondary VGA input to switch a PC through). Sometimes had the TV out on the 9200 running through a TV elsewhere in the room which I guess makes four. :)

The 9200 doesn't support QE by default, so I initially found having it active slows down the Expose/Dashboard transitions on all displays. If you force QE on the 9200, then Expose etc run fine, but large-area screen updates on the 9200 display are relatively slow; if I place a Safari window across the join between my 23" and the 17", spacing down a large document - eg, an LJ friends page - clearly lags behind on the half of the Safari window being output on the 9200 17" display. Playing avi/divxs, or an EyeTV output window on the second panel causes the video run at about half the normal frame rate. Reducing playback window sizes helps, but it's obvious that QE isn't coping well with the PCI interface. Effect seems true under Panther or Tiger.

Keep meaning to turn QE back off again, to confirm the lack of acceleration improves video/redraw performance, but well, I like my expose transitions. :)

Upshot, you can do triple/quad monitors, but don't expect too much from the displays on the PCI card.
How much memory does your 9200 have? I was also thinking that the PCI bus might be a bottleneck but I was hoping enough memory and thus a bigger buffer to work from would reduce the limiting bandwidth of the PCI bus.
 

erroneousuk

macrumors newbie
Sep 21, 2004
6
0
Lollypop said:
How much memory does your 9200 have? I was also thinking that the PCI bus might be a bottleneck but I was hoping enough memory and thus a bigger buffer to work from would reduce the limiting bandwidth of the PCI bus.
It's an ATI Radeon 9200 Mac Edition 128M.
 

shred444

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 23, 2005
25
0
just as a follow up: i got one of the monitors. it works great, one problem though. sometimes itunes gets a little choppy if i move windows between video cards. not sure if i can adjust the settings to account for this.
 

Attachments

Calvinatir

macrumors 6502
Nov 8, 2003
430
0
LA
shred444 said:
just as a follow up: i got one of the monitors. it works great, one problem though. sometimes itunes gets a little choppy if i move windows between video cards. not sure if i can adjust the settings to account for this.
you from Pepperdine?
 

WillMak

macrumors 6502a
Jul 29, 2005
957
0
damn. thats pretty pimp. I thought you wanted to hook up for monitor not three tho? Can you watch movies on one screen, do work on another and have websites open on another without any slowdown?
 

shred444

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 23, 2005
25
0
Calvinatir said:
you from Pepperdine?

no, Northeastern University in Boston

my 4th is coming in a few weeks. Samsugn doesnt make these anymore so they are hard to track down
 

Similar threads

Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.