G5 Quad

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Litsnsirn, Jun 4, 2018.

  1. Litsnsirn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #1
    In my quest to become a bigger idiot, I just picked up a G5 quad. I booted it up when I bought it, it came with a 20" cinema display, so I have ordered a quadro 4500 and extra ram for it. I'm going to try it with leopard for a while and have some fun.

    I am having a hard time trying to find the correct part number for the airport extreme for it, most of the articles that I read go to dead links or the occasional part number that has no search results on google.

    There seem to be issues using sata ssd's but most of the articles seem to be about the earlier G5 power macs. What do I need to worry about there?

    Any other smart upgrades?
     
  2. covisio macrumors 6502

    covisio

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    There's a guy on YouTube who's created a RAID array using PCIe SSD adapters, in his G5 Quad. He also has the Quadro 4500. Claims it is the fastest G5 in the world.
     
  3. Dronecatcher, Jun 5, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2018

    Dronecatcher macrumors 68030

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #3
    Best line ever :D

    Unless you really, really need an airport card for completeness, I'd go for a cheap Edimax USB dongle instead - cost about 4 times less too.
    My old Quad used to have a SATA 1 SSD - anything higher and you can run into problems. Personally, my SSD didn't give that much of a lift over a traditional HD.

    Although the Quad has the raw power to do most things with ease (exception being javascript heavy websites) - every little OS and software optimisation will help - doing a search in the forum for your particular needs will be an advantage.
     
  4. Mnowell69 macrumors regular

    Mnowell69

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Location:
    Bedford, UK
    #4
    For the quad you would need an 'airport runway card' which the wifi card sits on/in. This is extremely rare and you see them on ebay for stupid money. As Dronecatcher says, best to get a usb wifi dongle or a pci wifi card.
    For storage i use a pair of Velociraptors in a software raid 0 array. Never lost any data and it's backed up in any case.
     
  5. Litsnsirn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #5
    Any info on the AirPort Extreme card?

    Is there a model number for the card? When u Google that, some different things pop up that don't look like these fit that space
     
  6. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #6
  7. weckart macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #7
    I'd say $86 for 802.11g speed is stupid money. The only reason to get the Runway card is if you absolutely have to have bluetooth support at boot so that you can use the Apple Pro BT keyboard and use that to access Open Firmware/boot screen/zap the PRAM etc.

    Any mini-PCIe to PCIe adapter card with a 2006-era Broadcom Apple WiFi card will give you native Airport under Leopard for a fraction of that for the additional sacrifice of one PCIe slot.
     
  8. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #8
    Fair enough.
     
  9. Litsnsirn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #9
    Bluetooth, so I can use the keyboard that I already have is the main reason I wanted it. Thanks for finding that z970mp!!! I am also a bit of a completionist, so having a hole with nothing plugged into it, well, it's an issue...

    Is there anything that I want to look out for for SSD's that will function. Can I boot from drives attached to PCIe cards?
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #10
    You should be aware that while the combined BT/Airport Card is nice, the BT feature tends to be a bit jumpy. I have a Quad and a 2.3DC, both with the combo cards and both Magic and Mighty Mouse tend to jump a bit and lag when using the native card.

    My solution has been to continue to use the Belkin USB BT 2.0 stick that I bought for my old PowerMac G4 Quicksilver.

    Here is an auction to one for $7 (MODS, NOT my auction!!!): https://www.ebay.com/itm/WOW-Belkin...339774&hash=item3a52829df1:g:ysIAAOSwstJZRBq~

    I have mine plugged into a port on my keyboard. It will override any stock BT adapters.

    PS. I should mention that it functions as native Bluetooth. I.e, there are no drivers to install and no separate apps to run. Plug it in and you control it with the BT icon in the menubar just as you would normally with the stock BT card.
     
  11. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #11
    I believe there are some Mac specific SATA II or III PCIe cards available from Sonnet and SeriTek/FirmTek which allow booting from a faster drive, but unfortunately the G5 isn’t capable of booting from a stand-alone PCIe SSD card like the Mac Pro.
     
  12. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #12
    http://g5center.net/hardware.html

    Look under the "Recommended SSDs" section and work from there.

    I honestly wouldn't bother with any PCIe storage. I haven't heard of any successful stories documenting the subject. Besides, chances are, you won't find any PCIe cards for the G5 period. It's kind of an obscure platform in modern day.
     
  13. Litsnsirn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #13
    Ordered an OWC, thanks! Thanks for everyone's help! I'm amazed at some of the valuable sites that don't seem to come up in the search engines.
     
  14. MisterKeeks macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #14
    The 7800GTX 512MB is a faster card than what he has, however...
     
  15. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #15
    No problem.
     
  16. Litsnsirn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #16
    Is it necessary to rebuild the water cooling system?
     
  17. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #17
    If it's not giving you any crap, I wouldn't touch it. Especially when it comes to the liquid-cooled G5s, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it.".

    But if you must know...
     
  18. Litsnsirn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #18
    I want to take it apart to clear the dust, So I guess I will inspect it.
     
  19. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #19
    You can dismantle the computer to give it a deep clean, go right ahead, but I really would stay away from the LCS module's inner-workings unless it's dying or problematic. It's not going to have any free-floating dust inside and you might screw up and introduce a whole host of problems. Believe me, I've been there. Many times.

    Just trying to help you...
     
  20. Brains macrumors newbie

    Brains

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Inside your head
    #20
    I cannot emphasise this strongly enough.

    By all means, pop the retaining rivet and slide the CPU cover off so you can find out which type of LCS modules you have, the more common (and fault-prone) American-made Delphi, or the rarer (and problem-free) Panasonics. Delphis you need to keep an eye on.
     
  21. RhianB macrumors 6502a

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    505 USA
  22. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #22
    Quads use the revised Panasonic LCS. All earlier models use the notorious Delphi system.

    I was stating that point regardless of which module you've got. Absolutely, keep one hell of an eye on a Delphi, but I wouldn't recommend going in and opening anything up, regardless of which brand.
     
  23. Litsnsirn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2018
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #23
    --- Post Merged, Jun 27, 2018 ---
    Do I may have wandered across another quad, this one was ordered pretty loaded, factory airport and Quadro 4500... and I still haven't cleaned up the first one. This one had the drives missing and I was wondering if there is a good replacement for the guide screws to fit the hard drive slots?
     
  24. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #24
    Use the guide screws in the little bags that come with new hard drives if you don't have any spare G5 screws. I believe they're big enough to fit and easy enough to remove.
     
  25. Macbookprodude macrumors regular

    Macbookprodude

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Location:
    ЗША
    #25
    Not true. The single pump shows Delphi on it.. and the dual pump is also by Delphi/Coolage. Panasonic was used on the dual 2.5, dual 2.7 models. Quad's single by Delphi was built better.
     

Share This Page