G5 software

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by LittleDJ8, Jun 3, 2018.

  1. LittleDJ8 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    #1
    Hello

    I got one older PowerMac G5 and i want to install software on it,since it didn't come with one.
    Ive tested many with USB but it gives me errors when it half done.
    Which software could i install it??
     
  2. G4DPII macrumors regular

    G4DPII

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #2
    As the machine is 12 years old at best, not a lot. At worst, nothing. Would be amazed if any vendors would still provide software from that long ago.

    Not 100% certain whether the most recent OS it can run is 10.4 or 10.5. You would be looking at programmes that are at least 8 years old at best. It maybe a good side/hobby project to try but nothing more.
     
  3. LittleDJ8 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    #3
    Tiger is original what it comes out with but can upgrade to Leopard 10.5.8. Tested both but they give me errors
     
  4. Dronecatcher macrumors 68030

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #4
    A G5 will run upto Leopard - OSX 10.5.8
    Both Leopard and Tiger can be found at macintoshgarden - if you stick around and search in this forum you'll soon find there's lots you can still do on that G5!
     
  5. G4DPII macrumors regular

    G4DPII

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2015
    #5
  6. mikzn macrumors 6502a

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #6
    A fire wire drive could be another option if you have one for installing off an external - even target mode from a laptop that has a firewire port.

    As mentioned above by Dronecatcher lots of good stuff on Mackintosh Garden Web Site
     
  7. TC_GoldRush macrumors 6502

    TC_GoldRush

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2017
    Location:
    Nevada, USA
    #7
    I kept getting corrupted files from the Macintosh Garden. Not sure if it was just me, but heads up!
     
  8. Dronecatcher macrumors 68030

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #8
    Are you trying to boot from USB DVD or memory stick? If you're getting halfway the original image may be corrupt.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 3, 2018 ---
    I guess that's a possibility too - last time I downloaded mine was ok - I never do a checksum though.
     
  9. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    If you have a paid Apple Developer Program account, you can legitimately download Mac OS X Leopard 10.5 (Full install) from http://developer.apple.com by searching for 'Leopard' in the More Downloads section.

    Screen Shot 2018-06-04 at 4.05.50 AM.png

    Once you have downloaded, use Disk Utility to restore the disk image to your USB drive, then boot the G5 into Open Firmware (cmd-opt-O-F) and you should be able to boot with a command like;
    Code:
    boot usb1/disk:3,\\:tbxi
    
    (Read article on USB booting)

    Then browse these forums to get a multitude of apps going - i.e. The Leopard Thread. Install TenFourFox or Leopard Webkit as your web browser and you'll find the G5 can be a very capable Mac.
     
  10. LittleDJ8 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    #10
    Ive tried Leopard and tiger from USB and with the codes etc. Still gives errors. Using TransMac to do usb stick,go to Open firmware,use "boot usb:,\\:tbxi",boots,doing format,leave it to do its thing,gives error and only option is to do restart. Might be corrupted but dunno. UltraISO shows its nicely. Only haven't done DualLayer Leopard Disc. Mayb i need model based version one???
     
  11. Dronecatcher macrumors 68030

    Dronecatcher

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Location:
    Lincolnshire, UK
    #11
    When you format the disk go into security options to zero out the drive - it will take a long time but it should isolate any bad sectors on the drive.
     
  12. LittleDJ8 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    #12
    Drive don't have bad sectors as ive checked on HDTune thru windows. Might be image fault or machine doesn't want to take it.
     
  13. AphoticD macrumors 68000

    AphoticD

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    You could also try a different USB stick. I've found some USB3 thumb drives fail to boot on PowerPC Macs, where a USB 2.0 period drive will work.

    Or it could be a failing hard drive in the G5? It would be good to try running the Apple Service Diagnostics disc to test the G5's RAM and logic board before installing again.

    If your G5 has a long plastic antenna strip down the back and has twin Gigabit ethernet ports, then it's the late 2005 model which will use the ASD version 2.6.3 disc found here;
    https://archive.org/details/asd.2.6.3

    If it only has one Gigabit port then it will need ASD version 2.5.8 found here;
    http://www.dreamsupport.us/download...v 2.5.8 Dual Boot CD (2005)/ASD 2.5.8.dmg.zip

    Burn to disc (CD for 2.5.8, single layer DVD for 2.6.3) and boot by holding the C key then allow it to run through the OF tests. This can take some time for a G5 with more than 2GB of RAM, so just let it run through.
     
  14. LittleDJ8 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    #14
    Got older G5 with 4ram slots,one gigabit ethernet.
     
  15. Brains macrumors newbie

    Brains

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Location:
    Inside your head
    #15
    There's your problem.

    Somehow, you need to format your USB-stick to use APT (Apple Partition Table). The stick will undoubtedly still be using MBR for its partition schema, which is fine for pretty much everything but pre-Intel Macs.
     

Share This Page