G5 Tower - dead

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by CawdFour, May 18, 2010.

1. CawdFour macrumors newbie

Hello gents' This is my first time on the forum but I've been told by friends that they have found a great deal of help on here!

I have a G5 tower - dual 1.8GHz configuration. A few days back, it went from turning on, to turning on with a blinking LED. As luck would have it, my monitor also died (it was on it's way out) so I can't diagnose the problem. Here are some clues.

- With air-flow cover in place, fan's start up slow, then gradually increase to high speed.
    - With air flow cover not in place, they start up at a medium speed. The fan in front of the PCI bays seems to be spinning up and slowing down over and over.
    - When the cover is off, a red LED inside on the motherboard (about the same level where the power button is) lights up. When the cover is on, it goes dark.
    - No start up chimes regardless.

If this is a lost cause, would it be possible to turn this beautiful case into a custom rig? I'm eyeing the back of the case, and it seems like it would be a difficult task, but I would like to see the old girl live on!

Cheers!

Rich

2. noodlemanc macrumors regular

noodlemanc

Looks like its pretty dead. Try it with a working monitor though to make sure. If it still doesn't work, its dead. Using the case for another machine seems like a good idea, good luck with that!:D

3. CawdFour thread starter macrumors newbie

Yes, it does. However, having a case not designed for an intel board is going to be a huge problem. I could get away with leaving the optical and hard drive bays intact (I think) but mounting a motherboard that fits is going to be very difficult (not to mention, arranging the I/O ports that are fixed on the back of the macs case, etc)

In an ideal world, I could find a motherboard that allowed me to leave the internal structure intact, and one that could be mounted to the current points - I have yet to see that, however.