g5 will not work with graphics card

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Project Alice, Jan 14, 2015.

  1. Project Alice macrumors member

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #1
    Hi all,
    So I picked up a dual 2.0ghz g5 for 50$, loving it so far but the 128mb 9800 is dreadful. I bought the G5 to replace my dual G4 which I have come to the conclusion is a fried motherboard. Anyway in the G4 back when it worked had installed a GeForce 6200 512mb. Of course they're both AGP Macs. Anyway I moved the G4s card to the G5. But of course, it doesn't work. The Mac chimes, but there's no video at all. I've reset the pram and gone through all the usual steps.

    Is there any reason this card shouldn't work on this G5 while it worked perfect in the G4? (I also re-enabled pins 3 and 11) Could the motherboard have fried it too? I'd prefer not to go find another card, as the Mac ones are way overpriced and I no longer have a PC with an AGP slot to flash one with :/
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    The ATI 9800 is a much better card than the Nvidia 6200. Why not use that one?
     
  3. ctmpkmlec4 macrumors 6502

    ctmpkmlec4

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Location:
    Lyons, KS
    #3
    If the card is fully seated in the AGP slot, I would pull the 6200 out and clean the contacts with a pencil eraser and isopropyl alcohol. Depending on the type of tape used, maybe there is some adhesive residue present on the pins preventing voltage from going where it needs to go. I doubt this is the issue, but it's where I would start.
     
  4. Project Alice, Jan 15, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2015

    Project Alice thread starter macrumors member

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #4
    So far the radeon 9800 isnt performing even half as well as the geforce 6200 did, and the 6200 was in a G4. Its definitely not better than the 6200. At least this ones not. Maybe its because my 6200 has literally 4 x the amount of vram that the 9800 does.

    And I suppose ill try to clean it. I just used scotch tape, it didnt seem to leave any residue but i guess its possible.
     
  5. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #5
    My preferred method for cleaning card contacts is to use absolute ethanol and a Kimwipe(or two).

    When I'm at home, I have neither of those. Denatured alcohol is close enough, and 91% isopropyl will also do a decent job(in some cases better than denatured, depending on what exactly you're cleaning off). I also generally use a cotton flannel gun cleaning patch, but any clean cotton cloth(such as cut from an old T-shirt) will work just as well.
     
  6. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #6
    A Radeon 9800 should run rings around a 6200. I co-developed the Mac 6200 and can tell you that for a fact.

    If your 9800 was slower, then you had a bad 9800. The 6200 was primarily created to bring Core Image to Cubes. FWIW, Barefeats tested our 6600GT and found it equal to a 9800, back in the day.
     
  7. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    Core image in a Cube?

    I'm going to have to find one of those cards :)
     
  8. Zotaccian macrumors 6502a

    Zotaccian

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #8
    Radeon 9800 Pro is clearly better than 6200 and as it was pointed out, very similar to 6600GT in performance. GeForce 6 -series however is more modern in terms of technologies it supported, like HDR, but none of those shold make difference in regular use. Having 512mb vram on slow card like 6200 makes no sense atleast for gaming since the chip is so slow it cannot run games with high resolutions anyways, not the ones which were released back in the day and probably xouple years before.
     

Share This Page