Game performance on Mac OS X

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by sanzar, Apr 24, 2010.

1. sanzar macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to mac and was wondering if anyone could explain why my iMac 24" 2.66 Intel Core Duo, NVIDIA GeForce 9400 (bought mid last year) seems to have such a hard time running an old game like Command and Conquer 3?
    I haven't actually played any games for a while now, but I had C&C 3 on my last PC when it first came out a few years ago and it ran better on that machine (which had significantly inferior specs to my iMac) on higher settings than my iMac can produce on settings that are about medium...
    I went and dug up the old gamespot performance comparisons for PC hardware and it looks as though my iMac should easily handle the game without breaking a sweat on ultra high.

Is there something I should do to make it run better? I've heard that games can run on Mac, but generally perform better with the windows partition through bootcamp. Is this true?

Thanks anyone for the advice.

2. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

It's probably because (like most games that get ported to the Mac) whatever company did the port did a poor job.

Not necessarily...

3. sanzar thread starter macrumors newbie

So perhaps it's just C&C3 that sucks on mac then?
    The company's name appears to be Cider looking at the box. Are they any good?
    If anyone can tell me how well it runs through bootcamp I'd be most appreciative.

4. NGL macrumors member

If it's a Cider port, then that explains the poor performance. Cider is essentially a "wrapper" that lets OS X run the game (provided the computer has an intel processor). It's not a true native port, it's a quick slapjob that "works" but suffers in terms of performance.
    The games I can think of that are guaranteed to have the same performance under Windows and OS X are Blizzard games.

-Nick

5. sanzar thread starter macrumors newbie