Games on Imac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ag227, Nov 18, 2007.

  1. ag227 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #1
    I dont no whether this is the right section with there being so many and it has probably been asked before but i could find it... but im trying to find out which games work on both the 20" imacs under bootcamp running xp.

    Im after knowing if games like colin mcrae:dirt and need for speed pro street and basically any other driving / racing games are playable?

    so thanks!
     
  2. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #2
    Every game ever made for XP will work well, on the HD2600 at least. Even Crysis, the most demanding game available, works no problem if you turn a few of the effects down.

    I'm playing Need for Speed Carbon at the moment on XP. Runs perfectly with everything on max (no AA) at 1680 resolution.

    You'll have turn a lot more of the effects down on the HD2400 however.
     
  3. ag227 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    #3
    thanks, thats good to no!

    so your saying pretty much most games will be payable just with varying amounts of the settings turned down?
     
  4. Oceansized macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    #4
    I'm running Vista on 2.8ghz 24" iMac with the latest ATI Drivers installed.

    It plays the Crysis demo fine on all Medium settings. I've just installed NFS: Pro Street and it plays fine on high setting at a 1024x768 res.
     
  5. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    Does Pro Street support widescreen? I had to download a third party hack for Most Wanted and Carbon, otherwise it would just stretch and squash the display.
     
  6. Trout74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    #6
    I play the new command and conquer, with everything on high, WITH AA on, and 1920 native resolution and it playsa and looks amazing!

    Trout
     
  7. AppleWoW macrumors regular

    AppleWoW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    SLC, Utah
    #7
    In DX10?
     
  8. Cobalt` macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    #8
    I dont think the 2600 or 2400 supports DX10 :|

    But I do know that the new ones that just came out are better and they support DX10 (3800)..

    but they're not in these macs unfortunately.
     
  9. AppleWoW macrumors regular

    AppleWoW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Location:
    SLC, Utah
    #9
    actually the 2600 has DX10 but its at the bottom of the line from what i've heard...and im not so sure about the 2400.
     
  10. jf8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    #10
    actually the entire ATI Radeon HD2000 series has DX10, so the HD2400 would be at the bottom of the line.
     
  11. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #11
    I've seen some pretty dodgy benchmarks in DX 10 though. Even the GeForce 8800 is hardly speedy in some DX 10 benchmarks.
     

Share This Page