Games with 8600m gt 512mb

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Habitat31, Mar 1, 2008.

  1. Habitat31 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #1
    Has anyone tried any games with this card with 512mb? (crysis,half-life2,bioshock,Prey,Bf2) Please post Thnx!
     
  2. dothevampire macrumors newbie

    dothevampire

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    When it ships to me on Tuesday, I'm loading XP and playing the Orange Box all day.

    I've heard good things about these cards.. I'm sure Cyrsis won't run at full specs but it should run pretty smooth!
     
  3. Ryox macrumors 6502a

    Ryox

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    I doubt crysis would run full specs... It'll certainly handle UT3 and COD4
     
  4. Habitat31 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #4
    well what setting would it run in then?
     
  5. aiterum macrumors 6502

    aiterum

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    The difference between 256mb Vram and 512mb Vram will not be as visibly significant as it is between 128mb and 256mb. There have been plenty of Youtube videos of 2.4's with 256mb running Crysis fine at decent resolutions (things like 1280 x 800 I believe) without the AA and AF (which you can't expect to run). If you want to run it at anything higher (and granted, why would you need to), then you shouldn't have bought a laptop.
     
  6. Czechmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    From what I read the memory difference becomes apparent when you play in high resolutions, use a lot of AA or the game is just very texture heavy.
     
  7. aiterum macrumors 6502

    aiterum

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    yes that is what Vram is used for. However, the bottleneck of only having 128mb is more significant than being bottlenecked at 256, since the standard has only recently moved to 256mb
     
  8. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #8
    i have the 2.2 ghz mbp with a 128 meg video card and i can already run UT3 and COD4 on max at native resolution (no AA)..at 25-30 fps.....so i assume you can do at least the same :)
     
  9. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #9
    correct

    its the same card as the old rev..so unless they upped the clocks..on an app that requires 128 megs of vram or less you will see no graphical improvement as given via the gpu
     
  10. zgnoud macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    #10
    im running orange box - team fortress 2 with all graphics settings to high with 4xaa + motion blur getting a pretty respectable 30~45fps. running on a top end 15" penryn model
     

Share This Page