Games

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by zeldafan4ev, Dec 17, 2010.

1. zeldafan4ev macrumors newbie

Hi,
    I've been working on my new Macbook for a few months now, and I LOVE it. My favorite part is how quiet the fan is. On my old Windows PC, when I put a bunch of stuff on it, especially games, it would slow down, overheat, and the fan would get LOUD.

I have 1 or 2 Mac games I would like to load onto my Macbook, but I don't want to hurt the fan or decrease the computer's overall performance like my PC's. I'm so worried about having a forever noisy fan and slow computer like my PC.

I'm only using 30 gigs of the hard drive right now, mostly video, and putting these games on would add maybe 20 more gigs, so not a lot. I just don't want to wear down my laptop.

If it makes any difference, the bigger game is World of Warcraft. (Please don't respond about how stupid the game is, or how it won't run anyway, it will run, and no one likes a troll :) )
    Thanks for any help I appreciate it!

2. zachsilvey macrumors 6502

Installing and running a game won't effect the hardware on Macs or PCs.

Sure if you are playing a game things are going to get hot and the fans are going to get loud but as soon as everything cools down it will be just as quiet as it was before.

You have absolutely nothing to worry about (except maybe loss of productivity:)).

3. zeldafan4ev thread starter macrumors newbie

Finals week is over, I'm maxing out :D

4. zeldafan4ev thread starter macrumors newbie

My hard drive made quite a bit of noise while installing, but I guess that's normal, I'm just very careful of sounds haha

5. iThinkergoiMac macrumors 68030

The only way installing games could weaken your overall performance is if you either leave them running in the background (ie, don't exit/quit) or install so many that you begin running out of HDD space.