Gaming? ie. Steam, starcraft 2

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by yang88she, Jun 4, 2015.

  1. yang88she macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #1
    Wondering if anyone tried to install any games?

    Been a while since I've played any games since I've sold my mbp 15" 2013
     
  2. yang88she thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
  3. galarneau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #3
    I've played a little Minecraft. Seemed to work ok. ~40-45 fps.
     
  4. keviig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #4
    A bit off topic, but streaming games via Steam works flawlessly on the rMB!
    When streaming from my desktop computer (windows 8.1, gigabit ethernet) to my rMB that's on AC wireless i get smooth 60 fps with no noticeable delay.
    I have played a few hours of Witcher 3 on ultra at 2560x1600 with a Xbox One controller and the experience has been great.

    Going up to 4k resolution did give me some fps drops, however that's likely the network or my desktop computer struggling.
     
  5. Brocksley macrumors member

    Brocksley

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Utah
    #5
    Played WoW, Diablo 3, and Heroes of the Storm. Low settings with high res character models turned on and anti aliasing on low on WoW. Got 60 fps on wow like that, 90 without AA. Not ideal being on low but fine for a random match or dungeon on the go. Didn't expect it to play anything as it's not what I bought it for, but fun to know it does in a pinch.
     
  6. tigerduck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    #6
    Streaming works well. I haven't tried to install any 3D games, but given how hot my rMBP 13" runs, I don't want to try it. Most games I have actually installed are indie games from GoG. Sunless Sea, Stacking (mild 3D), Monkey Island remake, Baldur's Gate remake, Banner Saga, Fez, Incredipede, Grim Fandango Remake all work very well and the machine doesn't run hot.
    I tried to install the old Civ3 Conquests via Crossover, but that was really slow on a 1.3 GHz machine. I wish I could get my hands on the digital version of the Mac version.
     
  7. yang88she thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Location:
    ATL
    #7
    thanks for the feedback all, was hoping to catch up on some Starcraft 2, but guess I will have to just build a desktop for my gaming needs in the future
     
  8. elephantnut macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2015
    #8
    I've tried out LoL under bootcamp on the rMB (1.2GHz). I was getting around 50fps or less at very low, 1080p. Lowering the resolution by a bunch didn't seem to push it up to 60fps.

    Definitely playable, running at 60fps would just be a lot nicer. Also, this was in a custom with just me so the framerate probably tanks in bit fights.

    Indie games and less computationally intensive games should all run great. Phantom Breaker runs fine, and any kind of visual novels run fantastically.
     
  9. politicsoffear macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    #9
    Has anyone tried playing Civ V or Beyond Earth on the new MacBook?
     
  10. TidyWorks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    #10
    Worms clan wars - med 1440, Tropico 4 - med 1440, Minecraft - high 1440: all run fine between 30-50fps for me. Going to try Civ V this weekend.
     
  11. Pandarama macrumors member

    Pandarama

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #11

    Hots is ok so ? 60 fps seriously ^^ ?
     
  12. Brocksley macrumors member

    Brocksley

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Utah
    #12
    In WoW, I got 60fps. Didn't check fps on HotS, just checked if it was able to load and looked ok.
     
  13. kingofwale macrumors 6502a

    kingofwale

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #13
    i don't know how you gets are getting that. I have all the setting on Low and got serious lag during heated battles. making it almost unplayable (HOTS).

    1.2ghz here
     
  14. Pandarama macrumors member

    Pandarama

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #14
    Yep, I doubt that is possible to make Hots playable on the rMB.
     
  15. airattack111 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    #15
    I use the budget beast listed in my signature for legit gaming.. when I'm not working of course.

    I will try and install windows ASAP and see what kind of FPS HOTS can get. The bad thing is as soon as it gets hot it's going to start throttling big time because there's no fan. Don't expect this thing to do much as far as gaming goes.

    PS: check out ori and the blind forest, fun game. I love this little thing.. expect for the 480p camera haha. Fanless is awesome.
     
  16. tigerduck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    #16
    Installed Civ V on the weekend and it runs surprisingly well on a 1.3 GHz rMB. I had all the settings at lowest, except for textures=high and terrain-quality=low. Running at 1280 x 800.
    I played about 20 minutes on a small map. There was no annoying or anything. Everything went quite smooth and the CPU temperature was around 75 degrees while playing.
     
  17. Brocksley macrumors member

    Brocksley

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Utah
    #17
    I don't know how to play HotS, but I downloaded it and played through all the tutorial missions and tested out several heroes. Played for over an hour. No stuttering or issues that I ran into. Had low on everything, save textures which were high.
     
  18. Arni99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    #18
    Battlefield 4 on the Macbook Retina 12"
     
  19. Maven1975 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    #19
    If you have not played it, I highly suggest South Park Stick Of Truth with Bootcamp.

    It plays great and is hilarious.
     
  20. galarneau, Jun 10, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2015

    galarneau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    #20
    I just played Portal 2 and it worked great. I ssh'd into the MacBook from my iPhone and used 'top' to see how much CPU was being utilized. During gameplay, CPU was 60-65% idle, so CPU is not a limiting factor, at least in Portal 2.

    Minecraft was the same with 60-65% idle CPU. I'm going to try StarCraft a little later.
     
  21. PsychicRutabaga macrumors member

    PsychicRutabaga

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #21
    I'd be interested in hearing about how StarCraft 2 plays. Most of my gaming on consoles, but I do get a hankering for StarCraft once in a while. It's fun to obliterate my kids Zerg hordes with my Protoss fleet.

    Also, has anyone tried Amnesia: The Dark Descent on the rMB?
     
  22. Brocksley macrumors member

    Brocksley

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Location:
    Utah
    #22
    I'll download the starcraft trial and give it a go and post here.
     
  23. PsychicRutabaga macrumors member

    PsychicRutabaga

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #23
    Oh, I didn't realize there was a trial. I can pull that myself and give it a shot. Thanks!
     

Share This Page