Gaming in bootcamp

Discussion in 'iMac' started by brusgaard, May 13, 2011.

  1. brusgaard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    #1
    Hi there

    I'm planning in buying an 27" iMac, for AutoCAD, photo editing and gaming.
    Since im forced to run my games on Windows, im wondering how the performance is with games on the bootcamp?

    Thanks, Mikael
     
  2. stigzy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Location:
    Norway
    #2
    You shouldnt get any problem playing any game in windows 7. There are many videos on YouTube where they play Black Ops, Crysis, SC2 etc.. So you should take a look :)
     
  3. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #3
    The same as it would be if you had a Dell with a 3.4 i7 and a 6970M video card.
     
  4. Thares macrumors regular

    Thares

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Location:
    Dresden, Germany
    #4
    I've read that Portal 2 runs really well on the new iMac. And from my experience I can say: GTA 4 runs also very well! I'm a little bit impressed. :)
     
  5. DoctaKrafty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    #5
    It would run the same with bootcamp as it would on a similar specced windows machine. You wont notice any difference. Windows will run like Windows does and games will play like they're supposed to. In other words Windows runs natively. All boot camp does it set the boot system to be able to boot the Windows operating system, hence "bootcamp"!!!
     
  6. Georgio macrumors 6502

    Georgio

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    #6
    Set up my i7 with World of Warcraft / Various flight sims like DCS A-10, Rise of flight and Cliffs over Dover and they all run as good as a comparable PC.
     
  7. Chris5488 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #7
    My experience with the i7 and the HD6970m 2GB:

    Crysis: 2560x1440 native on High works fine, sometimes small hickups.
    Crysis 2: 2560x1440 native on High (which is the lowest setting in Crysis 2 :confused:) works fine. Higher will cause hickups. 1920x1080 on Very High is also possible, Extreme too but will cause hickups.
     

Share This Page