Gaming on Boot Camp.

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by PAT WS6, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. PAT WS6 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #1
    Im using my Macbook pro for everday stuff i have used vmware fusion and other programs but everytime i try and put a pc game it wont work cus the video ram is too low cus it dedicates its own from the mac and it DOESNT use my Raideon 1600 thats on here. my question is, will i be able to play windows game on BOOTCAMP. Thanks for helping out a NEWB guys.
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Boot Camp=Normal PC. You get all the hardware.
     
  3. CastrolSyntec macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #3
    Yes!

    YEPP!!

    Bootcamp is great for gaming. It runs windows better and is more stable than a PC!!! :D

    Just remember to install the Bootcamp drivers and updates. It could also be a good idea to update the drivers of the card once XP (Vista is not as good for gaming) is installed with the BC drivers.

    To do this:

    1) Find and download the best driver for that card (For windows). DO NOT INSTALL!!!
    2) Download and install Driver sweeper, but do not run it.
    3) Go to control panel and uninstall the current ATI driver.
    4) Restart windows
    5) run driver sweeper and tick ATI display (or something like that), nothing else. Click clean.
    6) Once all the bits (remains) have been cleaned, Restart again.
    7) Install the driver
    8) Restart and your good to go!!!:D:D:D
     
  4. PAT WS6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #4
    ok cool thanks guys. looks like ill be gettin this. how much is it ? i cant seem to find it on a download anywhere
     
  5. CastrolSyntec macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #5
    bootcamp is in the utilities folder for Leopard ONLY.

    Partition the disk and install XP/VISTA (XP = best)

    note: 1) you need to buy XP or vista
    2) Make the partition big enough
    3) if you make the partition less than 10 GB go to step 4, less than 32GB go to step 5, more than 32 GB go to step 6.

    4) Plonker! 10 GB is not enough. reformat to 1 OSX partition and make it bigger!

    5) During the windows install, MAKE SURE you format the Bootcamp (C drive) with the option "FAT 32 quick" otherwise it won't work.

    6) During the windows install, MAKE SURE you format the Bootcamp (C drive) with the option "NTFS quick" (or something like that) otherwise it won't work.

    the FAT 32 is only an option of installing XP as vista does not use FAT 32, but NTFS (Stupidly)

    KEY: NTFS (read only in OS X)
    FAT 32 (not as stable, but read and write in OSX)
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Or you can just go find the beta if you have Tiger.
     
  7. CastrolSyntec macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #7
    Beta no longer exists. it got removed upon the release of leopard :(
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    You can dial the date back and it'll work.
     
  9. CastrolSyntec macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    #9
    huh?
     
  10. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Change your clock to before December 31, 2007. Boom. It works, so get the beta.
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    Google. First result.
     
  12. PAT WS6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #13
    thats awesome. ive never seen that letmegoogle that for u thing. funny
     
  13. PAT WS6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #14
    it reads the bootcamp beta has expired after i install it.....
     
  14. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #15
    Change the date back to before December 31, 2007.

     
  15. PAT WS6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #16
    how do u set back the date it wont let me on my mac?
     
  16. PAT WS6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
  17. PAT WS6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #18
    ok all went well i had to install it as an NTFS because i didnt have a FAT opiton.
    i did 32gigs partition and everything is real sketchy in XP i need to download the drivers and what not where can i get these???
     
  18. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #19
    You're running Tiger? You were supposed to burn a drivers CD from within Boot Camp Beta. I'd suggest going back to do that. Some drivers found online are better than the Apple ones, though, so get your Apple drivers on and then get online in XP and Google search for "Boot Camp Drivers" or something like that to find repositories of non-Apple drivers that work better.
     
  19. PAT WS6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #20
    i got it i just need to install the drivers for xp pro thats on there. now how do i do this guys"???
     
  20. PAT WS6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #21
    correct, i didnt do that, simply because i dont have any cds up here at work all i have is a 80gig external HD can i use it on that??? and upload them?

    also is it ok that i did 32 gigs? and is it ok if its NTFS instead of FAT?
     
  21. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #22
    You have to burn a CD. As long as 32GB is big enough for you, it's fine.

    With NTFS, you won't be able to write to the drive from OS X without MacFUSE and NTFS-3G. Google for them.
     
  22. MatLane macrumors 6502a

    MatLane

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Location:
    England, United Kingdom
    #23
    Running boot camp with Windows is just the same as running windows on a PC made for it


    But it actually runs better!
     
  23. lamadude macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Location:
    Brussels, BE
    #24
    It's not "more stable than a PC", it IS a pc, you could buy a laptop with pretty much all the same components as a macbook or macbook pro. There are no hardware differences between macs and PC's anymore, so the only thing separating the 2 is the OS, an when you run windows there is no difference anymore.
     
  24. PAT WS6 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    #25
    cool, so the reason in xp its not ready the ethernet or usbs or anything is due to the drivers right. so let me get this right.
    . go back and burn cd from bootcamp assistant
    . then boot up xp and run cd?
    . hope all works well?

    thanks again guys
     

Share This Page