Gaming on Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by vitorferreira, Aug 31, 2010.

1. vitorferreira macrumors newbie

Hi i have a imac 27" i5, i am an illustrator/designer and only have bootcamp installed cause i like to alienate myself playing some videogames. Now here comes my question, is it possible that the imac may have come with a bad CPU, or something hardware malfunction related, that makes it impossible to install ANY friggin game on bootcamped windows? anyone had issues in here? i tryed to install with no success - PES 2010, operation flashpoint dragon rising, LOTR battle for middle earth 2, mafia 2 and resident evil 5 - all these games either, dont let me install them ( poping a DOS windows for a sec and vanishes ), let u install the game but error in game.dat appears when trying to launch the game...i am getting very frustrated, in my previous imac 20" 2006 i was able to install everything it would be capable of run. please help!

PS - i tryed to install those games in W7 x86, W7 x32 and XP sp3 with same results on 3 OSs ... its must be something in the hardware

Help, i might have a bad Imac, and dont know how to explain this to the seller, cause everything on mac side its working perfectly, even EVE online which i play on mac.

2. Grannyville7989 macrumors 6502a

Grannyville7989

That is incredibly odd as you've explained that OS X can play games fine but Windows doesn't want to know. I would say that it could be a hardware issue. I've installed Star Wars: Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast on my MacBook Pro running Windows 7 with no problems and it plays well too. I assume you keep up to date with latest Boot Camp drivers after you've installed Windows?

By the way, I highly recommend Jedi Outcast to anyone who's a fan of Star Wars :)

3. vitorferreira thread starter macrumors newbie