Gaming on MacBook Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Compillit, Jan 3, 2008.

  1. Compillit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #1
    Hi all. I am new to this forum and fairly new to Mac (newly converted).

    Why am I having problems playing Star Wars Battlefront for MAC on my MacBook Pro??

    I have the OSX 10.4.11m
    1.83 ghz intel core duo processor
    512 MB 667 mhz ram - soon upgrading to 2 gig
    not sure on the video card.

    Can someone explain why the game keeps freezing and why game play slows to a snails pace when there is a lot of action???

    Thank you in advance and I apologize if this has already been answered. I couldn't find any answers. :eek:

    PS: Will 2142 Battlefield do the same on my macbook pro???
     
  2. Josheua macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    Check to ensure that you have your power setting set to better performance on your battery meeter. Crazy I know, but I completely overlooked this for the first week coming from the Windows World.

    -Josh :apple:
     
  3. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Performance should improve greatly once you install more RAM. I think the big problem is that the game isn't universal. This means it was written before Macs had Intel processors, so it has to be run through an invisible emulator called Rosetta.

    2142 Battlefield on the other hand should run better since it is intel native. It will run flawlessly after you increase your RAM.
     
  4. Hmac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    #4
    Sounds like your machine might not have the graphics power to run the game. You don't mention what Mac you're talking about, but the video card is everything in many or most of these games. Next would be RAM, last would the processor.
     
  5. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Compillit has a more than capable Macbook Pro (detailed in the OP). His hardware is likely a non-issue. :D
     
  6. griffo macrumors newbie

    griffo

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    #6
    Wow... how many times did you post this topic?
     
  7. Compillit thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    #7
    Thanks

    Thanks for all the input.:D

    So sorry for the repetitive posts; didn't mean to.:eek:
     

Share This Page