Gaming on Windows 7 32bit or 64bit

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by DrumminFoo92, May 17, 2009.

  1. DrumminFoo92 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #1
    Alright guys.... I currently have 268GB on my hardrive.

    I have the 17" MBP Unibody so I want to start gaming again, and I have thought about Xp, Vista, and 7 and I have decided on windows 7 because its free and allows for DirectX10.

    1.
    Now I am trying to conserve hard drive space but should i get the 16GB 32bit or the 20GB 64bit version of windows 7 and how much space should i allocate for the partition?

    2.
    Games i will be playing:
    Counter Strike: Source
    Call of Duty: WaW
    Maybe Battlefield 2

    3.
    I plan on getting some newer games since I don't have my crappy computer anymore.
    Any suggestions??

    Thanks
     
  2. TSE macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    St. Paul, Minnesota
    #2
    Definitely go for 64-bit. For only 4 more GBs of hard disk space, you get to allocate as much RAM as you want to Windows, and 64-bit has almost just as much support as it does 32-bit nowadays.
     
  3. itisme1760 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Go for the 64-bit. At first, I didn't know much about it and installed the Windows 7 32-bit. Then I saw there was a 64-bit version, and found out that my Macbook Pro can run the 64-bit to utilize all 4GB of RAM. It runs flawlessly. I've played CSS and BF2 on it just fine, no problems.
     
  4. DrumminFoo92 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #4
    ok so you think an allocation of 60GB will be good? 20 for windows 7 and 40 for games?
     
  5. cubedweller macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    #5
    Sorta in the same position; I have a SR MBP, 2.4GHz, 4GB, 8600M... I want to install Windows 7, then Steam, for CS:S and TF2.. should I really go with the 64bit? or is this only recommended for the newer Unibody models?
     
  6. itisme1760 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #6
    I don't think Windows takes up 20GB of space. It only burns onto a DVD (4.8 GB). I put 100 GB for my Windows partition (I have a 320GB HD so I can be a little more lenient).
     
  7. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #7
    64-bit definitely. Way worth the extra 4GB. I have it and run it on a low end eMachines and it runs fine.
     
  8. DrumminFoo92 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #8
    what version of windows did you have?? it says the new minimum specs for windows 7 is 16GB
     
  9. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #9
    Windows 7 Ultimate RC Beta Build 7100 64-bit.
    And yes, I'm pretty sure it needs 20GB.

    EDIT: Do you mean what I had before Win7 Ultimate RC? Well before that I had Win7 Ultimate Beta 7048 (might have been 7057) 64-bit then before that I had Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit.

    EDIT2: when you say minimum specs are 16GBs, you mean of disk space, right? No way that is ram, I run it on 2GB of ram.
     
  10. DrumminFoo92 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    #10
    sorry yes i was talking about hard drive space....

    and what about boot camp 2.1 ? i've seen people use is... but which one do i download the xp version? or the vista version?
     
  11. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #11
    I don't have boot camp, I use it on my PC. But I would suggest using the Vista version, 7 at the moment is basically just a build off of Vista.
     
  12. Chad H macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #12
    I have Windows 7 64bit and wouldn't trade it for anything. Its a great operating system but the 64bit will allow you to expand your RAM which is important and it will use your processor alot more effectively. I also game hard on the windows side. Crysis, Jericho, Left 4 Dead, F.E.A.R. 2.
     
  13. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #13
    Really? Really? Crysis? Really? What are the specs of the computer you play this on?
     
  14. bli625 macrumors 6502a

    bli625

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
  15. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #15
  16. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #16
    No, they're not. All he states is that it's a 2.66GHz Nehalem Mac Pro.
    I want to know his video cards and ram.
    I run L4D with 2GB ram and an NVIDIA GeForce 8200 and know that runs fine on low end machines, but you have to have a really powerful computer to run Crysis.
     
  17. Stridder44 macrumors 68040

    Stridder44

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2003
    Location:
    California
  18. Ivan P macrumors 68030

    Ivan P

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Home
    #18
    I can play Oblivion using Windows 7 RC 32-bit in Boot Camp, on full settings and the only noticeable 'flaw' is there's a bit of "pop-in" and my MBP heats up to around 80 degrees celsius. Absolutely no problems aside from that.
     
  19. Chad H macrumors 6502a

    Chad H

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    #19
    Well you know its a Mac Pro, the proccesor, and clock speed. The main drive is a 320GB raptor and I have 8GB RAM. I game on Windows 7 Ultimate RC 64bit. Yes, I can play crysis, jericho, left 4 dead, and f.e.a.r. 2 just fine. Crysis being the lowest frame rate but I can keep 30 to 40 pretty well. The rest are run on high.
     
  20. Huxlay macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #20
    can anyone tell me what is better to play avi files on the apple TV? Boxee or XBMC? I live in Europe (Netherlands), so the social stuff from Boxee is not that interesting.. It's mainly about playing AVI's without having to convert them to MP4.

    Thanks and best rgds,
     
  21. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #21

Share This Page