Gaming under Vmware Fusion

Discussion in 'iMac' started by bluedoggiant, May 31, 2008.

  1. bluedoggiant macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #1
    I am getting XP sp2 for bootcamp to play games soon.

    But I also want to run windows along side my mac OS for little things, and leave bootcamp for the big stuff (gaming). Now I have Vmware Fusion and a windows sp1. Can I easily upgrade that to sp2. I want to play a demo for a game called Enemy Territory: Quake Wars, I don't care about graphics here as I just want to get a feel for the game, but would it play smoothly? under low graphics that is.
     
  2. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    yes you can upgrade to sp2
    it would depend on how much RAM you had
    if you have 1gb it may be choppy but if you have 2gb or more it may be ok
     
  3. bluedoggiant thread starter macrumors 68030

    bluedoggiant

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Location:
    MD & ATL,GA
    #3
    I have 4GB. I just want to test the game out until I get sp2 (required) for bootcamp. I'm getting the game for Mac (I heard its actually good for it), but the demo is only for windows.
     
  4. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
  5. xxjuicymintxx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI
    #5
    I think you'll be alright.
    I have 4GB in my MBP & use VMWare Fusion to game sometimes, it works out pretty nice.
     

Share This Page