garage band frustration

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by ob1, Feb 6, 2010.

  1. ob1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #1
    i posted this question somewhere else.. but i cant find it now :(

    anyway

    in garage band it shows that it hears sound from my internal mic... if i clap or make any sound the green bar goes up. but as soon as i hit the record button nothing happens.. it like mutes the mic.. every time i clap or sing or whatever it acts like it cant hear it..


    im just sooo frustrated... ugh... any help would be greatly appreciated...

    thanks in advance
     
  2. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #2
    Have you selected which track it is you want to record? Like, actually pressed the 'record' button on the track, then pressed the master record button to start recording?
     
  3. ob1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #3

    i pressed the red button on the track i wanted to record... what master record button are you talking about.. do you mean the space bar? cuz i pressed that and the red line movied but it didnt record anything.. :(
     
  4. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #4
    Spacebar just plays.

    You need to press the record button.
     
  5. ob1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #5
    i hit that and nothing happens :( its on the track that you want to record right?

    for example

    mine says

    male basic

    then it has a little red button.. i hit that..
     
  6. chstr macrumors 6502a

    chstr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    #6
    the track you want to record on AND the record button need to be engaged

    edit: so there are TWO red buttons that need to be on
     
  7. ob1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #7
    where is the other red button?

    btw.. thank you for all your help
     
  8. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #8
    Big one, beside the play and fast forward buttons.
     
  9. ob1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #9
    i seen the other red button... but now i cant get to it cuz its cut off by the bottom of my computer... ugh.. how do i fix this.. i already did that "zoom out" trick with the fingers.. but that didnt work
     
  10. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #10
    Press the green traffic light button.
     

Share This Page