Home Garage Door Openers and HomeKit

Discussion in 'HomeKit, HomePod, CarPlay, Home & Auto Technology' started by 3282868, Oct 10, 2014.

  1. 3282868 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #1
    I already own a Nest thermostat, Philips Hue system that promise software updates for HomeKit, and Kwikset Kēvo deadbolts with Bluetooth LE. I just replaced my garage door opener with a LiftMaster Premium with MyQ for use with remote control accessories.

    I'm apprehensive about the LiftMaster internet Gateway as review have been mediocre (though a new model just came out), and I also want to make sure it's HomeKit compliant. I've researched a lot but there's not much info on iOS 8 HomeKit compatibility. Anyone have advice on third party garage door openers with mobile and desktop access/functionality? Thanks! Greatly appreciate any help. :)
     
  2. piecloud macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #2
    I bought a Chamberlain MyQ gateway because Chamberlain was listed as a partner for Homekit. I contacted chamberlain support. They say that they are looking at Homekit support. But would not say when it'll be ready or if the current hardware will get an update to support Homekit. It sounded like that they'll have Homekit support for future products only. AFAIK, there isn't a similar product in the market now.
     
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    I use a Craftsman AssureLink garage door opener and gateway (all made by Chamberlain/LiftMaster and rebranded to Craftsman).

    Functions just fine on iOS8 on my devices including iPhone 6+.

    No info to share about HomeKit compatibility.
     
  4. Clingpeach macrumors member

    Clingpeach

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    #4
    Liftmaster

    Love my LiftMaster app...works great on my iPhone 6 plus
     
  5. Tom G. macrumors 68000

    Tom G.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Champaign/Urbana Illinois
    #5
    I also use the Chamberlin MyQ app for my garage door. It works great, I don't know what the Home Kit will bring to it.
     
  6. tekuonline macrumors newbie

    tekuonline

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Location:
    Rochester, New York
    #6
    I have a assurelink garage door opener and recently i was able to use homebridge on my raspberry pi to work with my opener. I can use siri to open and close garage door.
    Also my wink hub, wemo switch and vista 20p panel are working.
    PM me if u need any assistance. All i needed was a pi and some work.


     
  7. chrisduketv macrumors newbie

    chrisduketv

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #7
    I just bought a Raspberry Pi kit and am hopeful I can get my Assurelink Craftsman garage door opener to work with HomeBridge, HomeKit, and Siri. But I'm not finding much information on how to make the connection from Pi to the Assurelink. What's the secret? Thanks in advance for helping!
     
  8. ericgtr12 macrumors 6502a

    ericgtr12

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    #8
    I have the same setup, reading MyQ's post it really appears that they're trying to get it to work with Homekit and promise a firmware update to existing systems when they're ready. While MyQ is not outright admitting to it, it appears that Apple's requirements are too stringent. One of the reasons many products still will not work with it and Homekit is getting passed up by other vendors.
     
  9. piecloud macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    #9
    20 other manufacturers have released HomeKit products. So it can't be all Apple's fault. I can understand if it's a few months delay. But they've been saying that it'll be released soon for two years. Nice bait and switch to keep selling their product. After two years most will forget. They'll probably blame apple and say that you'll have to buy new hardware to get HomeKit.

    Most of the manufacturers admitted from the beginning that you'll need new hardware for HomeKit support. Chamberlain was probably the only one that said they'll enable it with a firmware update. Too bad they don't have any competition.
     
  10. Peepo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    #10
  11. sterling32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    #11
    I haven't seen any products become homekit compatible after the fact. Everything seems to require new hardware. The two examples of this I can think of off the top of my head would be Philips Hue, and the Ecobee 3 thermostat. I could be wrong, but if you aren't comfortable getting something like homebridge working I would not recommend purchasing any hardware in the hopes a firmware update will add homekit support.

    That being said, if you have a home server, desktop that is always on, or want to go the Raspberry Pi route homebridge is a great way to get homekit support now. I set it up with a MyQ Garage last week and it is pretty flawless. As a bonus I now have homekit support for a bunch of GE Link bulbs again after Philips took it away in an update.

    I'd be happy to field any questions people may have.
     
  12. ericgtr12 macrumors 6502a

    ericgtr12

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    #12
    Amazon Echo, Smart things, Wink, et al. are leaving Homekit in the dust. While savvy users like yourself and many others can utilize scripting and 3rd party tools, the rest of the world relies on simple and practical applications. If one wants full control over most of the existing home automation devices out there today, Homekit is probably the least compatible. I initially really had hi hopes for this but have moved on.
     
  13. simonx314 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    #13
    I have a Chamberlain MyQ Internet Bridge ($40) and a Rasberry Pi ($40) running Homebridge. I can lift my wrist and tell me Apple Watch "close the garage door". I love it. My Rasberry Pi also lets me tell Siri to "turn on the TV" or "turn on the stereo".
     
  14. mariusignorello macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #14
    I cannot seem to get the setup to work on my end. I have the Internet Gateway, so do you use the LiftMaster plugin or the MyQ plugin, or both? I'm not understanding the whole process.
     
  15. sterling32 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    #15
    I'm using the lift master one.
     
  16. mariusignorello macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #16
    Ok. Finally got it working.
     
  17. techortreat macrumors member

    techortreat

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    West Coast
    #17
    So are there any current homekit enabled garage door openers (out of box)? Or do we have to do all the additional stuff using Raspberry Pi.
    Also I have the Lutron smart bridge.Is there a way to use it along with one of the products such as MyQ to serve the purpose?
     
  18. techortreat macrumors member

    techortreat

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    West Coast
    #18
    hi - I have a genie garage opener. So to get the home kit functionality, do I buy this https://www.amazon.com/Chamberlain-...00EAD65UW/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8 and add the homebridge? - Thanks
     
  19. techortreat macrumors member

    techortreat

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    West Coast
    #19
    hi - What brand & model is your garage door opener itself? I am assuming the MQ Internet bridge will only work with a Chamberlain door opener and it's not a universal one. Thanks
     
  20. headhunter1994 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    #20
    been a while...any updates on whether Craftsman AssureLink is compatible with HomeKit?

    Craftman is listed as a 'partner'

    Thank you!
     
  21. cdavis11 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    #21
    Agreed - the chamberlain plugin doesn't seem to work but lift master home bridge plugin works great.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 19, 2016 ---
    I run my Chamberlain MyQ unit with HomeBridge using the Liftmaster plugin. It's not the most seamless thing to set up, but seems to be pretty solid so far.

    Like any pieced together solution, it's got it's limitations. Home bridge needs to run from the command line on an always on server, and in my experience it needs to be restarted every once in a while when it goes non-responsive.

    Overall it's a nice thing to have until Chamberlain gets their act together. An added benefit is it gives me Nest control through homekit/siri with another HomeBridge plugin.
     
  22. simonx314 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    #22
    Sorry for the delayed response. I have a MyQ Chamberlain garage door opener.
     

Share This Page