Garageband is scanning my system? [AirPlay]

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by rneglia, Aug 4, 2012.

  1. rneglia macrumors 6502

    rneglia

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    #1
    I just reinstalled Garageband after a clean install of Mountain Lion. Now I'm seeing this:

    "GarageBand is scanning your system for audio devices, and has detected a device named "AirPlay". If you want to use this device, do not disconnect it during the scanning process. Do you want to use this device?"​

    Thoughts?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. garybUK Guest

    garybUK

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    #2
    And? Mountain Lion has airplay audio out capabilities built in, for any machine (even those that don't support Video mirroring).

    It appears as a 'soundcard' if you will. So Garageband will be able to output to the device, probably some lag though.

    This is the built in equivalent of Airfoil.
     
  3. rneglia thread starter macrumors 6502

    rneglia

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
  4. theloon macrumors member

    theloon

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #4
    What is most annoying about this feature in Garageband is you can't turn off the scanning. As the latest firmware, certainly for ATV3, keeps bringing the thing to life periodically, it keeps popping up as a detected device.

    We need a checkbox to stop this in Garageband and/or at the system pref level.

    :(
     
  5. CylonGlitch macrumors 68030

    CylonGlitch

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    Scanning does not mean searching your software; it means it is scanning the hardware to see what devices are connected out there. Since AirPlay is a new feature of ML, it will detect it as new.
     
  6. theloon macrumors member

    theloon

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #6
    Yes I'm quite aware it's not scanning the software, you have missed the point of my comment.

    Having to constantly acknowledge a pop up window every time the ATV wakes up, which is beyond user control, is interrupting workflow, and there is no option to just ignore this discovery for either 'always' or for a 'session'.
     
  7. vimanaboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Location:
    n. california
    #7
    I finally figured out the source of this problem, for me. I use AirServer on a Mac Pro to be able to send A/V from my MBP to it's screen/speakers. I had been running v4.4. Updating to the current v4.5.2 seems to have solved the problem.

    If you use AirServer, AirParrot or similar software, update to the latest and/or contact the developer and inform them of the issue.

    Hope this helps.
     
  8. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    I keep having this pop up and interrupting my recording, how do i make it stop?
     
  9. Blackshapes macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    #9
    Change the setting in Preferences/input from "system setting" to the appropriate sound card.
     

Share This Page