Garageband, LogicPro Latency Issue

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by rympy, Feb 25, 2008.

1. rympy macrumors member

I've been experiencing some annoying latency issues when using garageband and guitar tones in logic while playing my electric guitar live through the audio input on my MBP.

It's been happening since 10.5.1 and maybe earlier..

I've optimized the sound drive for minimum delay when playing instruments live in the GB prefs, and i've tried similar things with logic. (Im a logic newbie btw).

I tried repairing permissions and doing a restart as well.

There seems to be no latency at all at first, but then after playing for about half a minute it starts to incrementally get worse. After several minutes of continuous playing the delay between the time I hit the string and the time i hear it gets stoooopid!

my iStat widget shows roughly half of my ram is unused and my Intel Duo CPU is cruising below 50%.

Thanks in advance!!!
    rympy (likes playing arpeggios in GB)

2. AdeFowler macrumors 68020

AdeFowler

Out of interest, try using headphones. I had a similar problem last year and headphones solved it, though it's obviously not ideal.

3. rympy thread starter macrumors member

4. rympy thread starter macrumors member

Real instrument latency in garageband 4.0

something interesting is that i found that by pausing the playback every so often seemed to reset the latency. So It would start again in time after hitting spacebar and then eventually fall out of time again. I could stop-start again and it would go back to normal.

Could my audio drivers or other hardware be at fault?

5. rympy thread starter macrumors member

Anyone?

The problem still persists..