Garageband organ sound MIDI problem - please help!

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by monjones, Jun 19, 2008.

  1. monjones macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #1
    Hello,

    I just bought a Presonus Firebox to record guitars, vocals and keyboard through Garageband. It all works great, except for a minor issue with the midi keyboard. All the software instrument sounds work perfectly, except the organ. When I play the keyboard with the instrument set to organ, there is no sound at all, but strangely it does record and there is organ sound on play back, but not when I'm actually playing. I've tried researching the issue and found this article:

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1083

    This may be the answer, if only I knew what it means and where the settings are that need to be changed. Is anyone able to help guide me to the solution?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Djmill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    #2
    Same problem

    I've been battling the same problem for a couple months. I'm not exactly sure how to correct it either. My experience is that it's almost always the 'tonewheel organ' option, although I also have a guitar part that does not play. Somehow or other, I seem to have fixed it on one song, but tried so many hacks that I can't remember how! When I do, I'll post it here!
     
  3. monjones thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  4. Djmill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    #4
    Some help

    Not sure how I ever got that one song to work. However, I found some software that will let you change the channel of the organ track to channel 1. One midi file I used worked, another did not. So it may take some hacking to get comfortable with it. Go to www.versiontracker.com and download MidiKit. - Dan
     
  5. Djmill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
  6. monjones thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  7. ludo91 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    #7
    hi i've the same problem but i don't undestand the correct way to solve this problem! please help me! guide me to the resolution! thx a lot!:D
     
  8. ludo91 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
  9. Djmill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    #9
    I solved my problem by downloading Dent du Midi from the link earlier in this thread. Then drop the midi file onto it. It then converts each track to a file that you can drop into Garageband, and it will create a track for it. I hope it helps you.
     
  10. ludo91 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    #10
    which midi file? i want play live!:D thx for the answer!
     
  11. Djmill macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    #11
    Huh? What do you mean 'what midi file?'. This thread is all about midi files and Garageband.
     
  12. ludo91 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    #12
    this thread is about a problem with the organs in garageband that don't play at all but the others instruments work perfectly! and if i play organs with the computer's keyboard they works! but with the midi keyboard all the instruments work perfectly except the organs; but if you record when you are playing (and there is no sound) if u go back and click play, it sounds! so i don't want to converts files but i want the organs play live! please help me!
     
  13. Bmode macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Location:
    California, USA
    #13
    Upgrade to Logic express or Logic Pro. Your already surpassing the needs of Garageband, I did it two years ago and never looked back!
     
  14. ludo91 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    #14
    .......
    please help me!
     
  15. localoid macrumors 68020

    localoid

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    America's Third World
    #15
    Why try to fight the "system"?

    The organ instrument in GarageBand responds only on MIDI channels 1 through 3. MIDI notes on channel 1 trigger the upper register of the organ, channel 2 - the lower register and channel 3 - the foot pedals.
     
  16. pilotkato macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    #16
    Hi Localoid,
    How would you go about doing that? I can't find anything on Midi Channels 1 to 3 on Garageband.

    Cheers,
    Patrick
     
  17. pilotkato macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    #17
    I've downloaded the Dent du Midi software but not sure still how to get the organ sounds on Garageband to work. Can someone please help? Thanks
     
  18. Artichoke macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #18
    Here's another one having the same problem...

    Exactly the same problem described by you guys:
    I can't monitor the sound of the organs while playing from my MIDI-controller - while playing the laptop-keyboard works fine. There is MIDI-input when I record, however, as it plays back afterwards.

    What MIDI-controllers are you guys using? I'm on a M-Audio Ozone 49 (3rd Gen) and it works out well for every other software instrument in Garageband.

    This is so frustrating. I'm currently on the phone with Apple support but they don't seem able to help...
     
  19. Artichoke macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #19
    Think I solved it!

    I think I've solved the problem, although I don't know how. For the moment being it works well. I've restarted Garageband and it still works.

    I just pushed a lot of buttons on my MIDI-controller and all of a sudden it worked. I wasn't very systematic so I'm afraid I can't tell you what did it.

    Hope it works out for you guys also! :)
     
  20. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #20
    There are 16 MIDI channels. What you must have done is tell the controller to transmit on the channel the virtual organ software is listening to.

    I think the organ listens on one channel for an upper manual, another for a lower manual and yet another for the pedal board. You were lucky not to be transmitting on the pedal channel.
     

Share This Page