Gave up on 3GS activation..

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by elie.fares, Aug 22, 2009.

  1. elie.fares macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #1
    I've been trying since this morning to get my new factory unlocked 3GS up and running.
    I can use it as everything now except the phone features because it's not fully activated.
    I tried hard resets, resetting network settings, erasing the whole phone, airplane on/off, removing sim then reinserting it, etc.. but to no avail.

    Now, I want to repeat the whole activation thing all over again. I want to re-enter the information and everything. So in order to do that, do I restore the iPhone?
    Erasing it through its inner settings got me to the iTunes cable thing but connecting with iTunes immediately unlocked it but activation didn't happen.
    I've been going at this for many hours now, it's becoming a pain in the neck... any help is appreciated.

    PS: I'm trying as hard as I can not to hacktivate and jailbreak it.
     
  2. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
  3. elie.fares thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #3
    My aunt sent it to me as a gift from Australia. She got it from the apple store so there so it comes as factory unlocked and it can be used with "any wireless carrier".

    My SIM card is for one of the carriers in Lebanon. They are not supported, I think. I'm not sure that's the problem though because the iPhone can be used with any wireless carrier.
     
  4. skye12 macrumors 65816

    skye12

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    #4
    The iphone can't be used with ANY wireless carrier. Just those that use
    GSM phones like ATT and T-Mobile in the US. Verizon and Sprint use CDMA
    phones (which Apple will probably make in the future).
     
  5. elie.fares thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #5
    Yes I know... my carrier uses GSM phones. I have an iPhone 2G running on it.
    The 3GS has a different phone number and the 2G is hacktivated.
     
  6. r6girl Administrator/Editor

    r6girl

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    I hate to break this to you, but I don't think unlocked iPhones are sold in Australia. See this list on Apple's site - the fourth column in the chart shows that all phones sold in Australia are carrier-locked. However, the 5th column shows that the carrier can unlock iPhones for customers. Your iPhone is probably locked and you must contact the appropriate carrier to get it unlocked. I'm not sure if they do this without having had a contract with them first.

    Had she purchased it for you in New Zealand, it would have been factory unlocked as they are indeed sold there. I have a factory-unlocked 3G purchased from there - it worked immediately with my AT&T SIM after connecting it to iTunes.
     
  7. elie.fares thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #7
  8. r6girl Administrator/Editor

    r6girl

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #8
    Good - then you don't have to worry about that.

    However, you shouldn't have to wait for activation at all, then. If this is a SIM you've already used in another phone before, it's already activated. If not, then it's a problem with your carrier, not your iPhone.
     
  9. elie.fares thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #9
    I want to repeat the whole activation thing all over again. I think I messed up something in the information I put the first time around. I'm downloading the 3.0.1 firmware and im gonna restore then try again.
     
  10. pesawyer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    #10
    Did you try to use the sim from the 2G phone you have to see if it works?
     
  11. elie.fares thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    #11
    Yes, I tried. It didn't work.
     
  12. ThE.MeSsEnGeR macrumors 6502a

    ThE.MeSsEnGeR

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #12
  13. xkylar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Guam
    #13
    I got my iPhone from the Apple Store in Australia and it is factory unlocked. As soon as I put my SIM card in it and connected it to iTunes it contacted the activation server then I got the message congratulating me that my iPhone is unlocked.

    I would say try setting up your iPhone as a new phone and hopefully will give you the prompt.
     

Share This Page