gedit natively for Tiger on a PowerPC Mac?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by RileyIL77, Dec 26, 2011.

1. RileyIL77 macrumors newbie

To all who read this. First of all I'm not a programmer, so I can't do this myself. Secondly yes, I know there is already a native gedit for Mac OS X, but it's has to have Leopard or better on an Intel Mac... So can anyone out there try to compile native for PowerPC running Tiger or do you know where to download it already for PowerPC running Tiger? I was told to try MacPorts and I've downloaded that just now. Still it would be cool to use use and install natively.

Also please forgive me if I've posted in the wrong area or if this request violates any forum rules.

2. zen.state macrumors 68020

zen.state

What you're asking could take someone days or even weeks and a very deep bag of coding tools. Not the kind of thing you should ever expect anyone to just do free for you.

You may as well ask for a car while you're at it.

3. adcx64 macrumors 65816

adcx64

4. ThunderSnake macrumors 6502

Yes, gedit is distributed under GPL.

5. zen.state macrumors 68020

zen.state

Yes it is. You need to actually know how to code though.

6. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

7. ThunderSnake macrumors 6502

Indeed.

OP, what do you need from gedit that you can't get from one of the many readily available PowerPC text editors?

8. zen.state macrumors 68020

zen.state

Both the Macs in his signature are G3 so 10.5 is an impossibility. It needs Altivec on PowerPC so that means only G4 or G5 CPU's

9. balamw Moderator

balamw

Staff Member

Thanks. That's what I was missing.

B

10. RileyIL77 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the replies.