Geek Squad flash dive wont get off read only...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Buzzybuzz, Feb 16, 2010.

  1. Buzzybuzz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #1
    I have a 8G Geek Squad flash drive my Uncle gave me. I recently got a MacBook Pro and he gave it to me to help transfer files. It works fine until I go to add files/delete files on my Mac. The drive doesn't do that on other (Windows) computers, yet on my Mac it tells me it's read only and won't let me change it's name nor what I mentioned above. I goggled, searched, and asked everyone I know and I can't seem to find out how to get it of read only.

    Thank you for your help.
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    How is it formatted? NTFS?
    You might want to reformat it as FAT32

    Check out the various file systems here: MR Guide: File Systems
     
  3. Buzzybuzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #3
    Ok, that seems good since the link you gave me said it works for both Windows and Mac (Which is important to me) but how do I reformat the flash drive to that format?
    Thank you for the response.
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    Use Disk Utility
    Select the drive in the left column
    Select the erase tab
    Select MS DOS FAT as the format

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Buzzybuzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #5
    Thank you! It worked. :D
     
  6. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #6
    Excellent!
    Glad to hear it!
     
  7. Buzzybuzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #7

    EDIT: Nevermind, read below.
    Yeah, I'm also doing it for my external hard drive, I just found out that's doing the same thing. :D

    Time Machine seems cool...
     
  8. Buzzybuzz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    #8
    Ok, It's not working with windows computers now. :(
    Is this just not going to work for one OS?
     

Share This Page