Geek Tool and iStat Menus 2 work under Lion!

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by HawaiiMacAddict, Jul 1, 2011.

  1. HawaiiMacAddict macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #1
    Aloha everyone,

    I have read the thread that lists the apps that apparently don't work under Lion. When I installed DP4 on a blank hard drive, I got the same results. However, when I installed Snow Leopard, loaded up all the apps I normally use (with the exception of Xcode), then upgraded to Lion, everything worked! Yes, iStat Menus 2.0 (the last free one) and Geek Tool are both operating as normal. Unfortunately, Icns2Rsrc.app no longer works, as even support for PPC apps has been completely stripped (I knew that I could no longer install Rosetta, but thought that if Rosetta was already installed, I may still be able to use it).

    Does anyone know of another app that can convert from .icns to .rsrc? Those image files are particularly useful if you, like I, like to create custom icons for internal and external hard drives.

    To repeat, if you install Snow Leopard and upgrade to Lion, as per Apple's instructions, as long as iStat Menus and Geek Tool are both installed prior to the upgrade to Lion, they will both still work as expected under Lion. Those are two apps upon which I have to come to rely more and more. While I liked the additional features of iStat Menus 3.0, I think I'll stick with iStat Menus 2.0 myself, at least for the time being.
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    That's good to know. I haven't read any other threads on this, but does Gimp still work?
     
  3. HawaiiMacAddict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #3
    I can not answer your question, as I use Photoshop, but someone else on this forum may have already tried. Does anyone else have any information on Gimp compatibility with Lion? I haven't read anything about X11 not being supported.

    I think the best thing about this is that you can get a "clean install" with Snow Leopard - ie., wipe your drive then install Snowy and the all the apps you normally use, then upgrade to Lion and keep on using them.

    That being said, Little Snitch is not yet compatible with Lion - I just found that one out - even after using it in Snow Leopard with the latest upgrade. It can get a little "noisy", but I like Little Snitch telling me what wants to communicate with the internet and allowing me some control over outbound requests.
     
  4. HawaiiMacAddict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #4
    One other thing If noticed is that, while iTunes 10.5b2 shows cover art for your library, Bowtie apparently can't display said artwork. I've taken to using one of the "bare" bowlets - it only shows text, but offers rating, controls, and track information, which is all I really need.
     
  5. HawaiiMacAddict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #5
    Geek Tool Update: You can only display your Geek Tools, not edit them!

    I was a little dismayed when I round out that while my Geek Tool 3.0 geeklets displayed, I was unable to edit them. I guess we'll have to wait for another update, compatible with OS X Lion.
     
  6. Michaelgtrusa macrumors 604

    Michaelgtrusa

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Location:
    Everywhere And Nowhere
    #6
    Good to hear about istat 2, but Gimp no longer works for me in 10.6.
     
  7. HawaiiMacAddict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #7
    One other thing. While it is true that iStats 2.0 (the last free version) works in Lion, provided it was installed in Snow Leopard prior to the upgrade to Lion, only the battery sensor works under Lion, including the GM. For that reason, I will most likely be purchasing version 3. I have tried out the trial version and it's really very nice and works well under Lion, at least DP4. Geektool, on the other hand .... We'll have to wait on the developer to produce a version that's compatible with Lion.
     
  8. HawaiiMacAddict thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #8
    New Geektool beta for Lion - works great!

    Aloha everyone,

    When last I posted, I pointed out that while Geektool installed under Snow Leopard does indeed show up under Lion, but that it couldn't be edited. Well, I just downloaded a new beta for Geektool that allows for editing of the geek lets I already had. In other words, this version of Geektool works perfectly and completely, at least thus far, under Lion!

    Get it from this link: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1760713/GeekTool.prefPane.zip

    This rocks! Now I just need to purchase iStat Menus ver. 3 and I'll have everything working under Lion!
     

Share This Page