Geekbench 4 is out. CPU and GPU..

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by p.l, Aug 30, 2016.

  1. p.l macrumors member

    p.l

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    #1
    http://geekbench.com

    They just released a new Geekbench with CPU and GPU now.
    Lets post our scores. :)
     
  2. Draeconis, Aug 30, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2016
  3. ColdCase, Aug 30, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016

    ColdCase macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Location:
    NH
  4. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
  5. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #5
    https://browser.geekbench.com/v4/compute/2763
    (76638 compute)
    https://browser.geekbench.com/v4/cpu/6808

    (4271 SC/11903 MC)

    My 3.5 GHz/m290x 5K imac.

    --Linus Torvalds, creator of the BogoMIPS benchmark.
     
  6. AndreeOnline, Aug 30, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2016

    AndreeOnline macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #6
  7. SoyCapitanSoyCapitan macrumors 68040

    SoyCapitanSoyCapitan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    #7
    GB4 is a more accurate idea of what these old 12 core Macs can do. For a while people were going around with an overinflated idea of what their systems were capable of compared to a new system because GB3 wasn't equivalent enough to a real world workload.

    My Win10 system for new hardware reference:

    6700K
    GTX 1070

    Single core 5320
    Multi core 17499
    OpenCL Compute 155688
     
  8. jerwin macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    #8
    I kind of like the fact that the GB4 is free for 64 bit benchmarks, paid for 32bit-- the opposite of GB3.

    32bit code doesn't reflect what's actually run on most machines.
     
  9. AndreeOnline macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #9
    Hey SoyCap,

    Always nice to get updated benchmarks. I'd much prefer accurate results that translates into real world performance than puffy scores. But I always find it hard to say how trust worthy these things are. Time will tell.

    Look how my Mid 2012 MacBook Pro has a 30% advantage over my 12c Mac Pro in 'single' =)

    Still, the purpose of my Mac Pro build was render speed in FCPX, out of Resolve and Maxwell in C4D. I can honestly say I've been happy so far in those scenarios.

    I'm waiting to see what Apple does for the Mac Pro—with a personal deadline this fall/winter. If nothing appears I'll get back to building PCs (which I do miss a bit). It's just so EXTREMELY annoying that everything is centered around single socket. Might look into Supermicro or similar. Time to read up on home built dual CPU systems.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 30, 2016 ---
    It was nice to run the vanilla bench for free. But CUDA requires purchase which only cost me like $7 for single user OS X.
     
  10. frou macrumors regular

    frou

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #10
    It hurts that the fastest possible cMP (3.46 GHz) gets spanked in Single Core by anything remotely recent - even lowish-end mobile chips :eek:
     
  11. AndreeOnline macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #11
    Yes, this is true. The delta between Single and Multi on the X5690 is especially large with Single only being like 13% of potential power.

    But I think in situations where performance relies on Single thread power, the X5690 can sometimes hide behind a well balanced system with fast PCIe SSD and so on, whereas when true grunt is needed it's still great bang for the buck.

    It's about time to turn this machine into a render station. Here it would shine since it's quiet—and filled with modern HDDs you can have all the space you need for non speed critical storage of large media files and image sequences. Oh, well.

    Anyway: bring on the RX 470/480 results!
     
  12. pastrychef, Aug 31, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016

    pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #12
  13. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #13
  14. orph macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  15. m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #15
    Not working on MacOS 10.10.5? o_O

    Code:
    Process:               Geekbench 4 [4615]
    Path:                  /Applications/Geekbench 4.app/Contents/MacOS/Geekbench 4
    Identifier:            com.primatelabs.Geekbench4
    Version:               ???
    Code Type:             X86-64 (Native)
    Parent Process:        ??? [1]
    Responsible:           Geekbench 4 [4615]
    User ID:               501
    
    Date/Time:             2016-08-31 13:15:03.315 +0200
    OS Version:            Mac OS X 10.10.5 (14F1909)
    Report Version:        11
    Anonymous UUID:        250C95C6-CA0B-F80C-AACC-2AFC90E655E6
    
    
    Time Awake Since Boot: 1200 seconds
    
    Crashed Thread:        0
    
    Exception Type:        EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
    Exception Codes:       0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000
    
    Application Specific Information:
    dyld: launch, loading dependent libraries
    
    Dyld Error Message:
      Library not loaded: /System/Library/Frameworks/Metal.framework/Versions/A/Metal
      Referenced from: /Applications/Geekbench 4.app/Contents/MacOS/Geekbench 4
      Reason: image not found
    
    Binary Images:
        0x7fff60c87000 -     0x7fff60cbd92f  dyld (353.2.4) <708E385E-50C6-32A3-983C-42E97BEE4346> /usr/lib/dyld
        0x7fff94000000 -     0x7fff941b0ff3  com.apple.QuartzCore (1.10 - 361.19) <E59000AA-DC30-3F73-A103-0240576C9556> /System/Library/Frameworks/QuartzCore.framework/Versions/A/QuartzCore
    
    Model: MacPro5,1, BootROM MP51.007F.B03, 12 processors, 6-Core Intel Xeon, 2.66 GHz, 24 GB, SMC 1.39f11
    Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670, PCIe, 4095 MB
    Graphics: ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT, ATI Radeon HD 2600, PCIe, 256 MB
    Memory Module: DIMM 1, 4 GB, DDR3 ECC, 1333 MHz, 0x830B, 0x4E54344743373242385042304E462D434720
    Memory Module: DIMM 2, 4 GB, DDR3 ECC, 1333 MHz, 0x830B, 0x4E54344743373242385042304E462D434720
    Memory Module: DIMM 3, 4 GB, DDR3 ECC, 1333 MHz, 0x830B, 0x4E54344743373242385042304E462D434720
    Memory Module: DIMM 5, 4 GB, DDR3 ECC, 1333 MHz, 0x830B, 0x4E54344743373242385042304E462D434720
    Memory Module: DIMM 6, 4 GB, DDR3 ECC, 1333 MHz, 0x830B, 0x4E54344743373242385042304E462D434720
    Memory Module: DIMM 7, 4 GB, DDR3 ECC, 1333 MHz, 0x830B, 0x4E54344743373242385042304E462D434720
    AirPort: spairport_wireless_card_type_airport_extreme (0x14E4, 0x8E), Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.106.98.100.24)
    Bluetooth: Version 4.3.6f3 16238, 3 services, 19 devices, 1 incoming serial ports
    Network Service: Ethernet Bond (bond0), Ethernet, bond0
    Serial ATA Device: Samsung SSD 840 EVO 1TB, 1 TB
    Serial ATA Device: Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB, 500,11 GB
    Serial ATA Device: HL-DT-ST DVD-RW GH80N
    Serial ATA Device: SAMSUNG HD501LJ, 500,11 GB
    Serial ATA Device: SAMSUNG HD501LJ, 500,11 GB
    Serial ATA Device: WDC WD20EFRX-68AX9N0, 2 TB
    Serial ATA Device: WDC WD20EFRX-68AX9N0, 2 TB
    Serial ATA Device: MARVELL VIRTUALL
    Serial ATA Device: Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB, 500,11 GB
    Serial ATA Device: Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB, 500,11 GB
    Serial ATA Device: MARVELL VIRTUALL
    USB Device: Logitech Camera
    USB Device: iPhone
    USB Device: Keyboard Hub
    USB Device: Apple Optical USB Mouse
    USB Device: Apple Keyboard
    USB Device: Hub
    USB Device: DYMO LabelWriter 400
    USB Device: Throttle - HOTAS Warthog
    USB Device: Joystick - HOTAS Warthog
    USB Device: BRCM2046 Hub
    USB Device: Bluetooth USB Host Controller
    FireWire Device: built-in_hub, Up to 800 Mb/sec
    Thunderbolt Bus:
    
    When checking the app:

    /Applications/Geekbench 4.app/Contents/MacOS/Geekbench 4

    Strange! Or do I need to update MacOS to 10.11 first?

    Cheers
     
  16. koyoot macrumors 601

    koyoot

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    #16
  17. Baunkjaer macrumors 6502

    Baunkjaer

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
  18. m4v3r1ck, Aug 31, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016

    m4v3r1ck macrumors 68020

    m4v3r1ck

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #18
    Argggggg! :rolleyes:

    Why not just put this requirement on the FRONTPAGE:

    [​IMG]

    or the "Buy" page:

    [​IMG]

    Using "Mac OS X (<10.10) and MacOS (>10.11)" together for the app is really quite confusing!

    Cheers
     
  19. ITguy2016 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    #19
    With GB3 it didn't account for heavy load and therefore did not accurately reflect real life. What I mean by this is my 5,1 Mac Pro, despite having lower GB3 scores than a 2012 rMBP, was able to transcode video faster. This was because the rMBP was not able to sustain 100% utilization across all threads during the operation whereas the Mac Pro could. I suspect this was a thermal limitation.
     
  20. Crosscreek macrumors 68030

    Crosscreek

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Location:
    Margarittaville
  21. buster84 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    #21
    Wow im a little suprised how well my laptop did! Beats out single core on my mac pro's as well, but looses in multicore performance but for a laptop this is pretty good. I love my laptop and I was originally planning to get a 15 mac pro but they never updated them so i got this one instead, i'm definitively pleased.

    https://browser.geekbench.com/v4/compute/8333

    1.jpg

    https://browser.geekbench.com/v4/cpu/29290

    2.jpg
     
  22. fastlanephil macrumors 6502a

    fastlanephil

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #22
  23. whwang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    #23
    Too bad. I am still running 10.10. Can't run Geekbench 4.

    Hope this questions is not too stupid: for Photoshop, should I pay attention to single-core performance or multi-core performance? Based on the Geekbench 4 Mac performance list, my machine (mid 2010 MP5,1, 2.93 GHz, 12 cores) is still quite good in multi-core performance, but quite lousy in single-core. I wonder if I should expect a major boost in Photoshop performance if I switch to MP6,1 or MP7,1.
     
  24. owbp macrumors 6502a

    owbp

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #24
    Thanks, that makes a lot of sense since there is a bar for choosing which GPU to test.:D
     
  25. JronMasteR macrumors 6502

    JronMasteR

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #25

Share This Page