Geekbench IMac?????

Discussion in 'iMac' started by QuickGuide, Jun 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. QuickGuide macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    #1
    I've been a MacRumors reader for the over 7 years nows... But this is my first post... ROCK ON! :)

    Anyway, came across this iMac on geekbench today... Was wondering if anyone had any idea of what it was?

    Thanks!

    http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/view/256797
     

    Attached Files:

  2. zmttoxics macrumors 65816

    zmttoxics

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    #2
    That is a rocking score but it is probably an OSx86 box with an ID spoof.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    There is no iMac 11.1

    As zmttoxics said, it's likely a Hackintosh with iMac ID
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    It does seem kinda fake:
    [​IMG]

    Look at the 4GHz with the i7 CPU and the FSB and the DDR2 RAM.


    There is: iMac i5/7
     
  5. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #5
    Why cripple a 6 core hackintrash with only 4GB of memory?
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Oh, I thought it's the 10.1 ;) Anyway, it's even more fake

    And that's DDR2 which cannot be used with Nehalems :p Hackintoshes aren't crap btw
     
  7. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #7
    Right, they're trash.
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    You obviously have never tried one. It's same as using a real Mac when you get things running
     
  9. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #9
    300D is too opinionated to argue with – seems like he doesn't have the ability to accept that he can be wrong.

    OP: No Mac as an i7-980x. :)
     
  10. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #10
    Well it wouldn't be the first time somebody had access to an apple computer before they were commercially available, and posted their geekbench results online-- the most recent macbook pros had this happen.

    But it wouldn't make sense for apple to use a 1000usd cpu for their iMacs then limit its high memory bandwidth potential with lower clocked DDR2 ram. It more or less sounds like someone built their custom computer and decided to save some money on the ram front.

    Hackintoshes are very powerful.
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    Nehalem architecture doesn't even support DDR2 so that's a fake. You cant use X980 and DDR2, the system won't even boot so he has either modified his CPU model or somehow hacked GeekBench
     
  12. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #12
    With hackintoshes the RAM is occasionally reported incorrectly – I would imagine that's all that's going on. It's easily fixed, but I guess that guy didn't bother.
     
  13. archipellago macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #13
    that is a proper i7 chip not the rubbish found in the iMac.

    the chip is close $1k alone.!!
     
  14. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #14
    If that's a proper chip then very few people have 'proper' i7s. The one in the iMac is the i7-860 - hardly a 'bad' chip. It's the same as you would find in any PC equipped with an i7-860.
     
  15. archipellago macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #15
    true...but

    the i7 860 is now under $280 and the cheapest i7 you can currently buy.

    not great in a machine costing what it does.
     
  16. RoundRobbin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    #16
    Misinformed

    Firstly, hackintoshs most notably show the wrong CPU deviceID in profiler.
    For example, my hackintosh which has a i5-750 overclocked to 3.8GHz comes up as a Xeon CPU.

    See the following link for reported highest scores with GeekBench (official site):
    http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/top

    Enjoy!

    P.s. My GeekBench score on Hackintosh is 10,100.
     
  17. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #17
    I don't commit crimes.

    Not even close.

    Prove where I'm wrong.
     
  18. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #18
    Right here. If you've never used one, you have no clue. I could set up a Mac Pro and a hackintosh, hide them behind a wall, and then let you run the same programs, and without looking at the system profiler you would not be able to tell the difference.
     
  19. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #19
    I agree. If you don't have any experience, then keep your mouth shut. Nowadays they are even stabler than normal Macs and things have been made a lot easier.
     
  20. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #20
    Not building a pile of junk doesn't mean I haven't used them.

    Then why are you even here?
     
  21. archipellago macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    #21
    I agree 100%...

    Hacks are not only faster and cheaper...they last longer too!
     
  22. andalusia macrumors 68030

    andalusia

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #22
    The fact is, you are too stubborn to admit you could be wrong.
    What's more is you are actually wrong in this situation.
    Also, hackintoshes are incredible machines if set up correctly.
    That will be all.
     
  23. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #23
    hmm, do you use Windows OS, Linux OS, or just OSX? if the latter - you're basically stating that your G5 is going to be better then ANY PC on the market? im speaking strictly hardware here, and how the OS integrates with the hardware. because, from my experience - my hackintosh is just as stable (if not more so) then my iMac i7. uptime seems to be longer, and all that other junk.

    the point is here, that the drivers are the ONLY thing that come into play WRT OS vs hardware. if you build a hackintosh with identical specs as a mac (i5 + P45 mobo + compatible GPU) then stability will be IDENTICAL. if you disagree, then your logic is flawed, it's as simple as that :)

    that is 100% truth. i am in love with my hack :)

    again, why are PCs junk?
     
  24. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #24
    Then what part of them makes them a pile of junk, exactly? You're quite vague on that point.
     
  25. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #25
    So you think all computers are pile of junk?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page