Geekbench result after pc upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dtechlogic, Apr 5, 2017.

  1. dtechlogic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #1
    Hi Guys,

    Is this normal for the benchmark I got for my Mac Pro with 1tb sad, 32GB 1066 Ram. Let me know your thoughts. Thanks. Both for Geekbench 3 and 4 are attached for you to view.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. EnderBeta macrumors 6502

    EnderBeta

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #2
    What was your complete specs before the upgrade and is your signature your current specs?
     
  3. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #3
    My spec before was a 2.40ghz with regular 4tb 7200rpm hdd. The only items I upgraded was the CPU and hdd to 1tb Samsung ssd.
     
  4. EnderBeta macrumors 6502

    EnderBeta

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #4
    What exact CPU did you have and get?

    Could there be a memory speed issue?
     
  5. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #5
    I upgraded the Mac two x5690 3.46ghz. Before I had the 5645. I do still have the original memory at home. I can test it with the original 1333 MHz memory to see if there is a difference.
     
  6. EnderBeta macrumors 6502

    EnderBeta

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #6
    On paper that upgrade should be amazing. With each core being faster I don't see why the upgraded Xeon shouldn't be better in every regard in your machine.

    Could it possibly be a power or heat related issue? I noticed that the TPD went from 80W to 130W per processor.

    Do you know what the speed of the new memory is in the machine? That might possibly be the issue if the memory is slower.
     
  7. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #7
    I am using the current memory which are 1066mhz. Also here are my CPU temp.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. EnderBeta macrumors 6502

    EnderBeta

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #8
    That is most likely the issue. You went from faster Ram to slower RAM. :(
     
  9. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #9
    Okay. Maybe will need to upgrade the rams to 1333. What do you think of the temp. Is that good or is it high
     
  10. EnderBeta macrumors 6502

    EnderBeta

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #10
    I think that if you upgrade the RAM to 1333MHz you will probably see an additional gain in single threaded performance as well as a gain over the original multithreaded speed. :D

    The TDP on the processor was probably a incorrect thread of thought now that we know the RAM is slower.

    I'm not certain what a good temperature range is for your machine. Hopefully someone with experience with your exact model can chime in when they see this thread. However generally speaking I think as long as your computer isn't idling at something like 60C+ you should be alright.
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #11
    My 5,1 with 24GB of 1333RAM and only 8 cores (X5677) scores higher than that:

    Geekbench 4.1 Score.png

    Lou
     
  12. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #12
    Now ruling out the problem. Will it be the memory or CPU heat. What do you guys think.
     
  13. EnderBeta macrumors 6502

    EnderBeta

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #13
    I think it is the memory. :D
     
  14. dtechlogic, Apr 5, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017

    dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #14
    I am going to test it with 12GB of 1333mhz
    here is my result with with 12gb 1333mhz. I did pram reset before running it. So here are my result with 12GB 1333MHZ. So I am getting better result with 12mhz or ram then the 1066 32GB. I may just have to invest on 32GB of 1333. Also I just notice that one of my CPU is running hot. I may have to redo the thermal paste tomorrow. It is about 8 degree C. higher than the cpu that is located by the front. The cpu that feels that is hot is the one toward the back. Right now it is reading Diode are 52, 43, 50, 40 Thanks for your comments guys. I really appreciate it.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #15
    Wow guys. I never paid attention to this but it was shocking. My Mac got replaced but the Apple Store here in LA and they mix match my memory. I never bother to the check the memory today. But in my Mac I have 1333 and 1066 together. Before the upgrade it register as 1066. It suck. I will have to order memory or is it best to buy from eBay or owc.
     
  16. EnderBeta macrumors 6502

    EnderBeta

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2016
    #16
    Yeah, if memory speeds are mixed all the RAM will run at the speed of the slowest module and reduce overall performance. The good news though is some of your RAM is already 1333 so you won't have to upgrade all of your RAM sticks. :D
     
  17. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #17
    The problem my Mac freezes at startup and notice the bench score is low with 16gb and the 12gb is higher. Also I did a mic match and the Mac freezed during loading OS X. I may just order new memories and I was thinking of getting them on my eBay or Mac sale. Since I can return these for a refund for buy back. Also they don't show up the frequency.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 5, 2017 ---
    Guys the 12gb 1333 outperforms the owc 16gb 1333. Do you recommend a place where to buy memories. I may have to Order memories. May look around for 32gb, 48, or 64. Depends on the price.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #18
    The rear CPU always reads hotter than the one in front. Right now my rear CPU is running 12⁰ F hotter than the one in front.

    Lou
     
  19. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
  20. AndreeOnline macrumors 6502

    AndreeOnline

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Location:
    Zürich
    #20
    For reference, using the same CPU. Don't get fixated on the exact number, but it should be in the ballpark.

    Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 08.12.48.png
    Screen Shot 2017-04-06 at 08.13.14.png
     
  21. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #21
    Your Geekbench scores seem correct to me. Keep in mind that your Geekbench 3 results are from running in 32 bit and all the other results being presented are 64-bit.
     
  22. dtechlogic thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    #22
    Also where do you guys recommend to buy rams.
     
  23. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #23
    You can find a ton of RAM on eBay for very cheap. Most are probably from decommissioned servers/workstations.
     
  24. kschendel macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    #24
    Data Memory Systems is my usual recommendation, but there are plenty of good vendors out there. OWC / macsales are fine but they do tend to charge a premium.
     
  25. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #25
    ^^^^This. BUT, I would NEVER us OWC memory!

    Lou
     

Share This Page