Geekbench Score For W3690 In Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by wispy007, Aug 14, 2013.

  1. wispy007 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    Hi All,

    For all you folk who have installed this CPU how do you find the performance compared to your stock CPU. What geekbench scores are you getting?
     
  2. azentropy macrumors 68000

    azentropy

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Surprise
    #2
    Geekbench
     
  3. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #3
    I know this isn't what the OP asked, but I recently put in dual W5590s and find there is a difference in scores between OSs. Lion gives me a higher score than Mountain Lion.

    Lou
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Yidahoo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #4
    I put in a 990X which is the i7 equivalent. My Geekbench went from 8500 with a 2.66 quad to over 16000 with the i7. A nice return on my money.
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    ^^^^Nice jump, but unlike the Xeon, the i7 only supports DDR3-1066 RAM not DDR3-1333.

    Lou
     
  6. MacMilligan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #6
    Gotta be careful when buying a CPU from that generation. The W3670 looks like a great deal until you see its 1066Mhz only, which is why everyone buys the W3680 or W3690.
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    ^^^^You are correct, but the OP was asking about the W3690 and that does indeed support 1333MHz memory. The i7990X (same 3.46GHz speed) only supports 1066 MHz RAM.
     
  8. TitouDoc macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
  9. Durex, Aug 14, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2013

    Durex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    #9
    quad 2.66GHz (W3520) to a hex 3.46GHz (W3690)

    I upgraded my 2009 quad 2.66GHz (W3520) to a hex 3.46GHz (W3690) (after doing the firmware hack of course).

    See images for all details including GeekBench (64-bit): went from 9453 to 16468

    At the time I was using 16GB of 1066MHz RAM, but I now have 48GB of 1333MHz RAM (I should run GeekBench again...)
     

    Attached Files:

  10. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #10
    ^^^^The W3690 should allow your RAM to run at 1333MHz if it's capable. Your RAM is only showing 1066MHZ. Are you using the slower RAM?

    Lou
     
  11. sbarton macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    #11
    No. The i7-980x/990x will be registered as a xeon and will run 1333 ram as long as you have that speed installed but will not support ECC. Yes - contrary to published specs i know.
     
  12. MacMadness macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Location:
    Dallas TX
    #12
    Here's a new Geekbench 3 score for my
    2010 Intel Xeon W3680 @ 3.33 GHz
    for comparison purposes to 3.46Ghz.

    48GB ram/480GB SSD HD/OSX 10.6.8.

    Looks like 15821 stock 3.33Ghz vs 16090 for the 3.46Ghz
    (at least taking into account how my MP is configured)
     

    Attached Files:

  13. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #13
    Anyone know if the W3690 will work with my 8500 1066mhz 16GB dimm until I get my 1333mhz 10600 ram in the mail?

    Just want to make sure it will POST until I get the faster memory.
     
  14. chris.k macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Location:
    YSSY
    #14
    Yep. The W3690 accepts 1066 Ram. It'll work.

    http://ark.intel.com/m/products/52586/Intel-Xeon-Processor-W3690-12M-Cache-3_46-GHz-6_40-GTs-Intel-QPI?q=W3690#@product/specifications
     
  15. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #15
  16. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
  17. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #17
    Never sold it... probably won't now with the cpu upgrade :D
     
  18. sidabet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    UK
  19. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #19
  20. saifulmazloum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    #20
    3.33ghz 8-core x5590s

    My 3.33ghz 8-core is at 19742.
    But I have yet to put in the SSD & better ram.
     

Share This Page