Geekbench Score higher with less Ram installed (Mid 2012 13 Macbook Pro)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Gator24765, Jun 28, 2012.

  1. Gator24765 macrumors 6502a

    Gator24765

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
  2. wiznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    You answered your own question/concern.

    The speed of the 4GB is much faster...


    I don't see what your concern is. It's fairly obvious why - but as far as whether you need the 8, that's up to you, and what things you plan to do on your MBP. Heavier applications such as FCP, etc. will benefit from more RAM. If you decide to get 8GB on a 2012 model.. you should buy 1600 MHz RAM.. as that would only make sense.. try www.crucial.com, using their selection tool.
     
  3. njaremka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    #3
    i'm going to say its because of this:
     
  4. Gator24765 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Gator24765

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #4

    That is what I figured. I wasn't aware of this until now.
     
  5. wiznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Edited my post with more information.
     
  6. MH01 macrumors G4

    MH01

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    #6
    I find my geekbench scores vary a bit every time I run it.

    You should have probably ran it 5 times with each configuration to see what the average was.

    If you want to see if the speed of the ram does anything run benches of 4GB of the slower vrs the faster ram.
     
  7. Gator24765 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Gator24765

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #7

    thanks for the info. I used 8gb of ram from my old macbook pro, so it must be outdated.


    I plan on using Final Cut Pro so the boost will help.
     
  8. wiznet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Yes, that would be slightly out-dated!

    And yes, FCP will definitely benefit, as I said. You can't go wrong with Crucial and I'm sure you'll highly benefit from upgrading - very worth the (relatively small, if you consider its impact) price.

    Good luck!
     

Share This Page