Geekbench Score Worse After HD Upgrade?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by ddeadserious, May 4, 2009.

  1. ddeadserious macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #1
    2.0 GHz Unibody Macbook, 4GB of Mushkin RAM, etc etc.

    Was running the stock 160GB 5400RPM drive, with no real issue, just limited space.

    I just installed a "Factory Recertified" Seagate Momentus 7200.3, 320GB, 7200RPM drive. I had it in my old MBP and it clicked sometimes, so I RMA'd it and this is the new drive.

    My geekbench score just after installing my 4GB of RAM(with the stock HD) was 3037.

    My current geekbench score(with the 320GB Seagate HD) is 2998.

    Any ideas why?
     
  2. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #2
    That's a difference of 1%!!!!!!

    Chalk it up to standard deviation and CV of the data. You took a sample size of 1 for each data set. I'd wager you can get >1-2% variance between runs depending on how long your computer has been on since it's last reboot.

    Relax, it's fine. If the difference were larger I'd tell you it's because the drive is larger, but 1% is too small for that even.
     
  3. twoodcc macrumors P6

    twoodcc

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Location:
    Right side of wrong
    #3
    a statistics fan huh?:)
     
  4. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #4
    Just a research biologist/biochemist. You can't take data at it's face value, you NEED to know the standard deviation of the data sets to compare them ;)
     
  5. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #5
    But shouldn't there be an increase, since the drive speed is faster? I mean, I didn't expect another 1000 points or anything, but I'd expect an increase rather than a decrease.

    I'm not super concerned, just curious.
     
  6. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #6
    Like I said, chalk it upto the variance that's inherent in the benchmark. Plus, again, larger drives can make for longer seek times.
     
  7. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #7
    Well, I ended up swapping the stock HD back in.

    My boot time with the new drive was 1 min., 32 sec. That's kind of a ridiculous amount of time for a current computer.

    On the stock HD, it boots in just under 50 seconds.

    It would just sit at the plain gray screen(before the apple logo appears) for a solid 30-40 seconds before doing anything.
     
  8. sosaysiburke macrumors member

    sosaysiburke

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    #8
    mine takes like 30 seconds counting slowly as possible.
     
  9. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #9
    Can always make sure you re-select the new startup drive when you swap the new drive in.
     
  10. ddeadserious thread starter macrumors 6502a

    ddeadserious

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Location:
    Plymouth, MI
    #10
    THANK YOU!:D:D:D

    That was the ticket. Evidently, it was taking all that time at the grey screen deciding the startup disk. I chose the correct one, booted in 44 seconds.
     
  11. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #11
    Wow, nice call!
     
  12. barkmonster macrumors 68020

    barkmonster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Lancashire
    #12
    I don't know if this particular control panel is for intel or just PowerPC macs but if you install the Processor Palette from CHUD tools, you can temporarily disable CPU nap.

    Turn off all start up items -> Restart -> Turn off Nap -> Run Geek bench

    That should give the most accurate reading of the peak performance of you're system.
     

Share This Page