Geekbench Snow Leopard to Lion

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Cynicalone, Jul 2, 2011.

  1. Cynicalone macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #1
    For curiosities sake a ran Geekbench on my laptop before and after updating.
    Screen Shot 2011-07-02 at 9.47.37 AM.png
     
  2. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
  3. haravikk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #3
    All that tells us is that your Lion installation is doing slightly more work than the Snow Leopard one, can you give more details about how you performed the test?

    For example; the Lion installation could be in the process of updating Spotlight, or performing one of any number of other post-installation tasks that may have affected the scores.

    How long did you wait before running the test? Was it a fresh install or an upgrade?
     
  4. Yamcha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #4
    It didn't have any effect for me, the same score of 8500+ (32-bit)
     
  5. Cynicalone thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #5

    Snow Leopard was freshly installed just last week to get the system ready for Lion.

    Lion was installed on top of Snow Leopard, the system was given time to index the SSD and all updates where installed.

    I rebooted the machine before each test.

    I think a 100 point difference is not that bad given how mature Snow Leopard is in comparison to Lion. I was actually expecting a larger drop off.

    I'm not posting this as a complaint just for the sake of information. I thought it would be interesting to test it before and after the update.
     
  6. haravikk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    #6
    Sorry, I wasn't trying to imply that or anything, just that the lack of info alongside the numbers meant it wasn't really clear what is actually being shown :)

    It sounds like you've done your due diligence in making the test as close as possible to even. I don't suppose you gathered any more information on the Snow Leopard install that could be used to track what's changed, for example top processes in Activity Monitor? Not that I expect you to have, but it'd be interesting to see if there are any new or more demanding than before processes that could account for it!


    I think overall it's to be expected though, as new features always are going to have their cost somewhere; if anything I'm actually quite impressed that it's only around a 4% dip, for a first version of the new OS.

    Interesting that floating point and memory are the main culprits; a few other threads comment on Lion using more RAM than Snow Leopard, so it may be it's making your RAM work that little bit more, for some purpose (*fingers crossed for pre-fetching changes of some kind*).
     
  7. MacUser2525 macrumors 68000

    MacUser2525

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Was same here pretty much identical.
     
  8. Cynicalone thread starter macrumors 68040

    Cynicalone

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Location:
    Okie land
    #8
    Lion does seem to need more RAM. But then again I'm using it on a laptop with only 2GB of RAM so there isn't much to give it right now. :)

    An 85 point drop in a .0 release is really very good imo.
     
  9. Mr Rogers macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    I've just run Geekbench in 64 mode for the first time ever after installing Lion, I'm getting a score of 11,840 on my iMac 27in i7 3.4 running 12G of RAM - is this good.

    Got a replacement iMac 27in i7 coming this week so will do a clean install and see what results are then - all I can say is compared to my late 2009 iMac 3.06 c2d its very fast.
     
  10. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #10
    Kind of strange cause I've thought that Lion is noticeably faster than SL. Things operate quite a bit quicker in Spotlight, opening apps, and general operation in the Finder.
     
  11. Nuak macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    #11
    Programmed obsolescence. They just deprecated your laptop on purpose.
     

Share This Page