Geeky Student's questions about timing and whats coming next

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Rafalski24, Sep 27, 2009.

1. Rafalski24 macrumors regular

Alright so first I will give you guys some background. I am a student at CU Boulder, planning on majoring in Broadcast Production. I do a lot of editing for both school and my own projects. I edit both HD (up to 1080p60) and SD content. I do some minor photoshopping and hope to get more into After Effects and Motion. I currently have a two and a half year old Macbook Pro which I never planned on being my sole editing machine through all of college, its decent but chokes up when attempting to edit HD content. I have around $2600 saved up as of now and plan to purchase a Mac Pro sometime in the somewhat near future. My questions- How likely is it that the next update will be much more than a spec bump ie. maybe usb 3.0 or fw3200 included? Do you guys think once I have enough money I should just buy one right away even if Apple hasn't announced anything? or wait and see... I will most likely get the 2.26 Octo with 8GB ram and the 4870 (using my developer discount which brings it to about 2900 or 3000)

Thank you guys so much!

2. goMac macrumors 603

Current Mac Pro should do 1080p just fine. Honestly, your biggest limiting factor these days is going to be disk speeds. You're going to want to RAID or buy faster disks, or both.

Don't worry about USB 3.0 or Firewire 3200. No one knows if either will ever make it to the Mac, you don't really need them, and USB 3.0 is no good for moving video around anyway.

Worst case if you just have to buy a PCI Express card to use those ports. You are buying a Mac Pro for it's expandability, after all.

(For the record, I work for a company that writes video editing software, and my work rig is a 2.26 octo.)

3. Rafalski24 thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks