GeForce 3 for Cube. Ugh.

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Jiggly Billy, May 26, 2019.

  1. Jiggly Billy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    #1
    Has anyone had luck sourcing one of these? We snagged a Powerlogix 1.2GHZ Cube-specific upgrade for our Cube, but the Radeon 7500 just isn't going to cut it. We are getting the VRM upgrade that allows the fitment of a Radeon 9000 (of which we have a spare from our MDD), but the heat of that thing will be intense even with a fan added.

    We love that the Geforce 3 fits the sock faceplate and rear support bracket, but has anyone found one?? If you have PLEASE show me where!
     
  2. swamprock macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
  3. Jiggly Billy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    #3
    I actually just found his message to me from a year about one! I hope he still has it. A better GPU would make the Cube officially replace our 20" G4 iMac as the "classic gaming Mac"!
     
  4. weckart macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    #4
    You might have to forgo the faceplate and try flashing a PC version. There are a couple of those around. The Mac version is very rare now.
     
  5. Project Alice macrumors 6502a

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #5
    If the 7500 doesn't cut it for you neither will a Geforce 3. With the 1.2Ghz CPU, buy a geforce 6200 and flash it. It'll run cooler and is way smaller than the nearly impossible to find GF3. Not to mention a fraction of the price. Full core image is a plus as well. It'll run circles around anything else you could fit in a cube.
     
  6. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #6
    with or without a VRM move?

    because with a VRM move, theres a rare Radeon 9800 Pro built on a Radeon 9700s PCB that you can flash and squeeze into a G4 cube which will kick a GeForce 6200s ass if you really wanted to max a G4 cube out :)

    (along with Dual 2Ghz 7448s while your at it :D )
     
  7. Project Alice macrumors 6502a

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #7
    Without a VRM move. And very few people have 3 million dollars to shell out for the three 2ghz dual CPU upgrades in existence. Lol. The
    Geforce 6200 is better than what people give it credit for. It's handled everything I've thrown at it. I've got one in a sawtooth. Any game they make for PowerPC macs will run on it. I play UT2004 pretty consonantly on high settings on it with my sawtooth. I have one in a pentium 4 PC too. Pretty much anything that runs on these old CPUs won't even max out a 9800 Pro IMO.

    Plus 9800 Pros are extremely over priced if you can even find one that fits and will flash properly. 6200s are like 25 bucks.
     
  8. Jiggly Billy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    #8
    Core image was not a requirement, but native OS 9 support very much is. This will run everything from Tomb Raider 1, and top out at Max Mayne/Halo/UT2k3 (which the Geforce 3 + CPU upgrade is more than capable of). ADC support was also a requirement as we have an...image to uphold with our setup. Lacking an old AGP PC is the final nail in the coffin.

    @bunnspecial was able to assist with my plight :D
     
  9. Project Alice, May 28, 2019
    Last edited: May 28, 2019

    Project Alice macrumors 6502a

    Project Alice

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Post Falls, ID
    #9
    I am able to UT2004 on my 450Mhz Cube with a Radeon 7500, I think I tested Halo on there too. Any game that runs in OS 9 will run fine on even a Rage 128 IMO.
    If you need OS 9 support than the 7500 is pretty much your best bet as the Geforce 3 is pretty much a unicorn at this point. Even PC ones are rare and over priced when they show up. And those obviously won't have ADC which you listed as a requirement.

    If you feel you aren't getting enough 3D performance from the 7500, and need OS 9 support (why for a 1.2Ghz machine if you don't mind my asking? The few games I use for OS 9 work in classic) then I would suggest a VRM move and going to a Radeon 9000 from an MDD. If you remove ADC as a requirement that opens up a couple more doors as well.

    Someone with actual experience with this card can chime in, but from what I can tell on paper the Radeon 9000 Pro from the MDD should be no hotter, maybe even cooler than running a Geforce3 in this thing. Since you've got the 9000 already, I would just go that route.
     
  10. bunnspecial macrumors 604

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    Actual experience tells me that the Geforce 3 gives a significant improvement in 3D performance vs. either the 7500 or 9000.

    Aside from that, a Geforce 3 can SOMETIMES be pried from a reluctant owner, especially if that owner has a spare one...
     
  11. Jiggly Billy thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    #11
    Tomb Raider 1-4 have graphic issues in Classic that can make them unplayable, Hoyle card games lack audio & also suffer from graphic errors. The scope of what we want this Cube to run fits within needing full OS 9 support, but nothing much past Halo/Max Payne level of gaming. Basically everything we use our 20” iMac for but in a package that’s what we always wanted
     

Share This Page

10 May 26, 2019