Geforce 650m (512mb) Vs Battlefield 2: Bad Company?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bibs213, Jul 20, 2014.

  1. bibs213, Jul 20, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2014

    bibs213 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #1
    Hi

    I'm currently running a 2012 MBP in bootcamp and I'm trying to play Battlefield 2: Bad Company, however I'm getting a very spiked performance..I was under the impression I had a good enough machine for this game? Could someone please clarify if I should be able to play this game smooth and on what setting?

    My Specs:
    i7 2.3GHz 3615QM
    8GB Ram
    Geforce 650m GT (512mb Vram)

    I'm happy to play native 1440x900 or 1280x800.

    p.s I've also attached a MSI screenshot if that helps..

    [​IMG]
     
  2. leman macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #2
    It should perform quite ok (I guess around 50 fps, maybe even more) at 1680x1050. It should be also playable at 1920x1200, albeit with around 30 fps. But what kind of performance problems are you experiencing?
     
  3. bibs213 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #3
    I'm experiencing slow downs, and drops in fps
     
  4. yangchewren macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    #4
    Are you using throttlestop?
     
  5. bibs213 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #5
    nope, not heard of 'throttlestop' before your mention
     
  6. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #6
    Sounds like thermal throttling. Get a cooling pad.
     
  7. Neodym macrumors 68000

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #7
    That should be 1GiB - if only 512MiB are shown, you might suffer from a hardware failure.
     
  8. rapicell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    #8
    the mid-2012 had either 512mb or 1gb depending on the model
     
  9. Neodym macrumors 68000

    Neodym

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    #9
    Ah - my bad. I implied the OP had the rMBP, but it seems it's the cMBP, which fits the 512MiB bill. My apologies for any confusion caused!
     
  10. bibs213 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #10
    What exactly is getting throttled? the CPU or GPU?

    how can i test to confirm this and what would you say is within reasonable temperature range for playing games such as BF2?
     
  11. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #11
    The behavior you describe sounds like throttling, and it has been reported on these forums with your model. I guess you can see if the GPU downclocks while gaming, or see if a cooling pad helps remove the slowdown.
     
  12. TechZeke macrumors 68020

    TechZeke

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Location:
    Rialto, CA
    #12
    I was able to play on my old 2012 cMBP 650M 512Mb Battlefield 3 at near max settings at 1440x900. Battlefield Bad Company 2 should be a breeze.

    Random drops is usually is a heat issue due to throttling. I never experienced this with my old cMBP though, only on my old Sony VAIO.
     
  13. yangchewren macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    #13
    Use throttlestop and limit your processor to non turbo boost frequencies. It should prevent fps drops. Theres quite a bit of info posted on these forums about throttling on the 2012 & 2013 MBPs - its power throttling as compared to heat throttling, so running both your proc/gpu at high loads is whats causing it.
     
  14. bibs213 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #14
    I'm not quite sure how to use throttlestop and I'm not too familiar with non tubro boost frequencies but I'll give it a go.

    Thanks for your input
     
  15. bibs213, Jul 24, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2014

    bibs213 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    #15
    I've tried to use throttlestop (set to non turbo) but I'm still getting the same results..

    Any other ideas?

    I've noticed that the problem isn't limited to Bad Company 2 (also on COD: Black Ops 2----which was running flawlessly)

    I've tried tomb raider on the mac side and that seems to be running fine..currently using OSX 10.9.4
     

Share This Page