GeForce 8800GTS install?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Steve686, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. Steve686 macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #1
    I am a long time PC user and have converted to Mac with a MacBook this month.

    I am looking to purchase a MacPro, but would like a choice other than the stock video cards offered.

    My main question is, would I be able to install a BFG Tech Nvidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB video card into the current MacPro? I have a self built gaming PC gaming rig and would love to make use of some things out of it for my future Mac such as the SATA drives and the video card.

    My first post here so some help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. sweedigel macrumors member

    sweedigel

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    france
    #2
    Your card will only work if you boot under Windows. On Mac OS you'll have a blank screen. You have to buy a Mac graphic card which have a specific firmware. And the most powerfull one atm is a x1900xt :(
     
  3. Steve686 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #3
    Thanks for the input.

    Yeah, I was at the Apple store yesterday and it did seem weird while I was listening to the sales associate say I would have no problem using my PC video card. I figured there had to some sort of compatibility issue somewhere in the line.

    I guess I may wait until the "rumored" MacPro makes it's debut then.

    Again, thanks.
     
  4. sweedigel macrumors member

    sweedigel

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    france
    #4
    Yea we cross the fingers for a new graphic card. An option for the 8800GT instead the outdated x1900XT would be a great surprise.
    It's better for you and your wallet to wait 'til the update before buy. ;)
     
  5. takao macrumors 68040

    takao

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Dornbirn (Austria)
    #5
    side question: what if you put in 2 cards ?
    one windows card
    +
    standard mac card

    should you be able to use the second one for the mac then ? or doesn't boot it correctly in that configuration
     
  6. sweedigel macrumors member

    sweedigel

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Location:
    france
    #6
    It will work. But the windows card will be recognized as an unknown device.
     
  7. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #7
    Can't you disable it in OS X? Then things would run correctly?
     
  8. rhildinger macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    #8
    You can't get a Mac 7300GT and a PC graphics card to boot correctly in Mac Pro. If you have both cards installed the Mac refuses to boot, pure and simple.

    You CAN however have a Mac X1900XT card and a PC graphics card installed together in the Mac Pro, and it will boot just fine. It won't be able to use the PC card, but the X1900XT will still work fine. The PC card will be usable within bootcamp. There are some issues with this however, especially in the area of the number of data lanes configured for each PCIe slot, and the fact that you can only have one card with a 16x lane slot.

    Also, in order to do this, you'll need to get another micro PCIe power to mini PCIe power cable adapter, or use one of the PCIe power converter cables that connects to a standard IDE power plug and connect it to the unused optical drive power plug.

    -Robert
     
  9. francojc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #9
    That's not true. I have a Mac 7300GT and a PC 8800GT running and my Mac Pro, and it boots into Mac or Windows fine. Only the Mac 7300GT runs on Mac OS, and the Mac 7300GT and PC 8800GT run on Windows. In Windows I set the 8800GT as the primary card.

    My only complaint is that the 8800GT's fan runs at full speed if you boot straight into Mac. It's pretty annoying. If you boot into Windows it will slow down once the drivers start.

    Franco
     
  10. nihilisticmonk macrumors 6502

    nihilisticmonk

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    #10
    So what about the "only 1 16 channel pipeline?" problem
    Do you have to change this setting every time before you boot windows up to get the most of the card, or do you just run it at a reduced rate? Does it still work well for games? I'd love to pimp my graphics out for Christmas, but have always held back because of this problem....
    convince me to go for it :)
     
  11. kmd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #11
    How to install?

    I'm not sure if this is the appropriate place to ask, but ...

    I just got an 8800GT for my dual booted Mac Pro. But, I've discovered, it needs a an additional power source. Does anyone know how to access the Mac Pro's power supply to get the connections necessary? I can't seem to find the answer online.:confused:

    Thanks
     
  12. kmd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    #12
    Answered own question

    Ok. I figured out how to get to the power - use an extension cord from the CD drive power. But, problem number two is what others have found - the 8800 does not work in the Mac Pro. Going to exchange and try my luck with an ATI 3870 ...
     
  13. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #13
    Neither are going to work in Mac OS X unless you run a modified kernel.
     
  14. gammamonk macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #14
    You'll want to keep an eye on the Titan and Natit projects. Currently You can't use an 8800 card yet as there has never been one in an official mac yet. The 8600GT has a chance. Any 7000 series should be fine. I've done it with a Gigabyte 7600GT and it worked fine. Games and all.
     
  15. Kosh66 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    #15
    There are two power connectors on the motherboard for graphics cards, use one of them.

    this article may give you more info... http://developer.apple.com/document...le_ref/doc/uid/TP40003937-DontLinkElementID_3
     

Share This Page