General questions about MBP before buying

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jsch, Jun 14, 2008.

  1. jsch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #1
    hi. i am thinking about buying a macbook pro.
    but before i do i wanna be certain of some things. i would really appriciate it if someone could answer the following questions:

    1. Can macbook pro install and use programs like utorrent to download movies and softwares from torrent sites?

    2. Can i do something with my macbook pro so i can play windows games at it? something that i can use all the programs apple normaly cant use but windows can?
     
  2. esvee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #2
    .
     
  3. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #3
    1. Yes (but discussions of pirating are discouraged here)

    2. Yes... Bootcamp and/or Fusion (or Parallels) allow you to run Windows

    EDIT: Too slow

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  4. jsch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
  5. jsch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #5
    does the Windows games run slow on Apple using bootcamp? So i cant play big games?
     
  6. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
  7. noodle654 macrumors 68020

    noodle654

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Location:
    Never Ender
    #7
    I play games on my MBP through Bootcamp and it runs much faster than Parallels.
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    Best to run the games under BootCamp and not Fusion/Parallels

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  9. jsch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
  10. MattZani macrumors 68030

    MattZani

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    For Doing IM and less intensive windows only apps, something like VMWare Fusions is fine, but games i would use boot camp for.

    But of course, i would be paying for these games, and software in the first place.
     
  11. honeycrisp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    #11
    Yeah, I hear bootcamp is the way to go!
     
  12. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #12
    bootcamp for games
    Vmware fusion for everything else
     
  13. jsch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #13
    btw, could you tell me a bit more about boot camp? does it cost? and things i shold know about it.
     
  14. glassmen07 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #14
    Boot Camp comes built in Leopard.

    You just need a Windows XP SP2 or Windows Vista disc to install it with.
     
  15. jsch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #15
    hey, just thought of 1 last question: should i install windows xp or windows vista home prenium/ultimate on my macbook pro? i thought that i should install vista cause its newest but some people tell me that xp is better, is this true? considering am only gonna use the windows part to play games and other programs thats only for windows.
     
  16. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #16
    I personally would use XP, but thats just because I hate vista; feels to gimmicky.


    That said, you guys (everyone else) should understand that Bootcamp is not virtualization (like with Fusion or VMWare)-it is Windows utilizing your mac as native hardware. Its no different from buying an off the shelf machine that comes preinstalled with windows.
    The only reason you will need to bootcamp assistant is to make it easier to partition your disk and make an NTFS partition (and some things to the bootloader but, eh).

    You technically can do it without the help of this assistant but i've never tried.
     
  17. jsch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    #17
    hi again. I was just wonderin on about something with partisionating or what ever u call it. If i have given the Windows part 32 GB. Can i later edit and give the Windows part more or less gb's with out affecting any files and with out having to reinstall Windows ?
     

Share This Page