Generic Mac-Pro Questions

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by ggg05a, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. ggg05a macrumors regular

    ggg05a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #1
    Hey Everyone:

    I'm buying a MacPro, and am fairly uneducated on the subject, figured I'd come to the experts; y'all and get some info.


    [*]Life of Current Model

    It seems like this version of the MacPro has been around for quite a while now. I have heard some vague rumors about a rerelease sometime soon. In your opinion what are the odds of it being released within the non-too distant future.

    If there is a new release, will it be a whole new look, or just a new set of hardware under the hood. Again, because Apple loves NDA's I figured all I can get is opinions.


    [*]Upgradeability

    If I was to buy the el-cheapo $2200 MacPro (with a single 4 core CPU) does the main board have two 771 sockets or just 1? Would I be able to slap a second CPU in there?

    If I was to buy an older Core 2 based model off ebay would it be possible to put in a pair Quad-Core Xeons, replace all the memory and retain the 1333MHz FSB?

    Can one setup Crossfire with a MacPro and have support for the dual video-cards within OSX?

    Thanks guys!

    --Garrett
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    There will be a Nehalem Mac Pro within three months. Nehalem does away with a component part of processors for the last decade or so, giving us a 40% speed boost, even without Snow Leopard.

    Why the heck does the tower need a redesign?

    Single-core models have two sockets; yes, you can add another one. Just buy one with two processors; it's cheaper.

    They're all Core 2. They're all Xeon. The past Xeon chips are Core 2.

    No CrossFire in OS X, no SLI in either.
     
  3. ggg05a thread starter macrumors regular

    ggg05a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #3
    Oh tower defiantly doesn't need a redesign. I love it the way it is.

    I think I'll wait for the Nehalem MacPros to come out. Price-point the same or no?

    --Garrett
     
  4. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Know how the base model on the Apple website says $2,799 now? That will be raised to $3,000.
     
  5. michaelsviews macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #5
    Price's to increase?

    How do you know this for sure?

    Some one tell Steve we are in a recession and prices need to drop
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    It's an informed guess based on the increase in price of the processors that will be used.

    The base model Nehalem Mac Pro's processors cost $2,344. While that is the 1,000-unit price and Apple is sure to order more, you can bet that the cost to US will account for giving them profit.

    Recession, nothing. Apple couldn't care less.
     
  7. michaelsviews macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #7
    DARN IT, I was right on target with a simple configuration for a MP, not sure but I think I am going to have to get the current processor. Back to the bargaining table because you can bet your ass that other stuff is going to go up in price.
     
  8. ggg05a thread starter macrumors regular

    ggg05a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #8
    That is a lot of denaro for just processors. If that is what a pair of base models i7s cost then I would imagine the MacPro i7 would be more than $3k.

    Would you agree?
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    That's not base-model i7, though. The Mac Pro won't be using i7. The prices I stated were for Gainestown Nehalem. I didn't make up a price; that's the price for THE processor for the next Mac Pro.
     
  10. ggg05a thread starter macrumors regular

    ggg05a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #10
    Oh, ok I understand.

    So since that is what Apple is paying for CPU's then $3k is a bargain.

    --Garrett
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    Well... not necessarily. They'll be paying a decent amount less per processor (the price I said was for a 1,000 chip order) because they'll be ordering more. The cost will be passed to us because Apple makes a 30% profit on their hardware. Beyond the processors, we have new DDR3 RAM, the 40lb aluminum case, and the rest of the componentry to pay for.
     
  12. michaelsviews macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #12
    One thing that keeps coming back to me as a question , Just how fast is fast enough? Power consumption being less I can see.

    Oh well its either going to be 4 core or 8 core 2.8 , Is anyone sure 200% that you can add a second processor to a 4 core, that sounds a little bit tricky to me let alone where the heck do you find the processor ?
     
  13. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    The Nehalem line will be all dual-processor, 8-core. You can add a second processor to the current single chip model.
     
  14. maclover001 macrumors 6502a

    maclover001

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    #14
    If the tower does get a redesign, it will probably have slot-loading drives.
     
  15. michaelsviews macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #15
    So your saying NO more 4 core? Everything is going 8 Core? I wonder how this is going to play out with the iMacs?
    Just think an 8 Core iMac, woohoooo
     
  16. michaelsviews macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #16
    That tower is the most sleekest and beautiful case I have seen ever, the design is just fine
     
  17. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #17
    The iMacs will probably move to quad core before the new Mac Pros come out.
     
  18. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
    Ugh. Please NO. How would any of us upgrade?! I'm not buying a slower, laptop drive for my professional workstation.

    At any rate, I already have a tray-load BD-RE/HD DVD-ROM drive, so that thing is GOING to fit in my Mac Pro.

    No. The Mac Pros only. Fail. There will be no 8-core iMac until 2011 with mobile Sandy Bridge.
     
  19. ggg05a thread starter macrumors regular

    ggg05a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #19
    Do you guys think the new MacPros will be one of those get up early and wait in front of the Apple store things, or will that much demand be non-existent?

    From the speculation I am reading it will probably be a June launch which coincides with the 10.6 launch. I HAVE to have one of these by beginning of July. Opinions.

    --Garrett
     
  20. michaelsviews macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    #20
    I'd say for ME, I have lots of good to great deals, and this is still in discussion mode at this point. I have to get some pricing down tomorrow and if there is a super duper deal, I mite go for it.

    From what was said earlier in this thread we're talking in a few months, if its going to be till June, "WHO knows for sure" than I mite not wait.

    I already waited on a fully loaded 3.0 and it was a sweat deal but lost out on that.

    Time will tell for sure
     
  21. ggg05a thread starter macrumors regular

    ggg05a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #21
    I might be retarded . . . but huh?
     
  22. ggg05a thread starter macrumors regular

    ggg05a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    #22
    Hey-

    Another question. . .

    Because Intel is brining back Hyper-Threading with the Nehalem architecture, there would be 8 physical cores on a dual CPU system, but OSX would see 16 logical cores. . . is that correct?

    --Garrett
     
  23. TrapOx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #23
    He doesn't. He guesses like most other things he posts about then states it like fact.
     
  24. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #24
    Correct. :) Even in Windows. :eek: :p
     
  25. Lumpydog macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #25
    No lines - know what will likely be available

    When the early 2008 Mac Pros were released on Jan 8th last year (unexpectedly, as it was a week before the expected announcement - MacWorld 2008), I called my local Apple store and they had them in-stock on that same day. I wandered over after at lunch and picked one up. They said I was the first to do so and said that the units had been overnight-shipped to the store to coincide with the announcement.

    I expect that, unless there is a case design change or some other reason to put on a marketing push/announcement, the new MPs will quietly show up at the Apple stores on the day they are announced and you will be able to mosey on in and pick one up.

    Understand though - that the retail stores will have the "base" configuration and maybe a higher spec configuration. On Jan 8th last year, they ONLY had the base config on announcement day. If you want anything non-standard, you're looking at BTO via Apple's web site and having it shipped.

    Note that the early 2008 "base" configuration was not the cheapest configuration (the cheapest had only one multi-core processor - the base had two).

    I eneded up getting the base configuration and adding an Airport card and swapping out the base graphics card (ATI 2600) at a later time.
     

Share This Page