Genius Bar appointment - Reset?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by sura, Oct 30, 2015.

  1. sura macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #1
    Will be taking iPhone 6 in for screen replacement. Will they require a reset?
     
  2. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #2
    No they won't if it's strictly for the screen. Still it's recommended to backup in case they mess up.
     
  3. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    Respectfully, I have to disagree with you.

    I took my 6+ in a little over a month ago for a screen replacement. Since it was a non-warranty replacement I did not bother to hide my jailbreak. I figured Apple would just replace the screen.

    The genius I dealt with demanded that I restore. She stated that they would do no work on my phone unless I restored it. And this was before she even knew about my jailbreak.

    Apple's passive-aggressive way of moving you forward.
     
  4. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #4
    Wow that's awful. I wouldn't want to restore just for a hardware change that has no effect on software.
     
  5. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #5
    Me either. But it was not unexpected. But I got the better end of the deal anyway.

    The genius did not want to listen to me about placing my iPhone in DFU mode first. It was a busy night and she seemed to be in a rush. The result of the bootloop that my phone went into was that Apple decided to blame it on iOS9. So, for the price of the screen repair they gave me a brand new iPhone 6+.
     
  6. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #6
    Wow that's a great deal. I may keep that in mind in the future :)
     
  7. sura thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #7
    :-(
    I'm thinking for them its a security issue. Don't want you to be able to say they stole your info.
     
  8. iphonedude2008 macrumors 65816

    iphonedude2008

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #8
    That makes sense. They don't want to be liable for employees exposing confidential data or compromising your personal security.
     
  9. sura thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #9
    I took it in, they didn't reset it. Just replaced the screen for the front camera crescent issue. :)
     
  10. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #10
    Great. :(

    That means it was as I suspected and I got a prissy, holier-than-though ******* genius who was just in a pissy mood.

    Glad you got your's taken care of ok though.
     

Share This Page