Genius bar replacements?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by ijen0311, Apr 26, 2010.

  1. ijen0311 macrumors 65816

    ijen0311

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
  2. Zepaw macrumors 65816

    Zepaw

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Location:
    MN
    #2
    To my knowledge they are usually new. Either that or they lie. :p
     
  3. slpdLoad macrumors 6502a

    slpdLoad

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #3
    At this point, I would certainly say new.

    Not that you can tell Apple's refurb products from new...
     
  4. tigres macrumors 601

    tigres

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Location:
    Land of the Free-Waiting for Term Limits
    #4
    They replaced my wides yesterday and brought out a brown box. Told me it was new without the packaging. I had no reason not to believe him.
     
  5. blg123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #5
    When I purchase my new Wifi+3G iPad on Friday at my local Apple Store, do you think they will cooperate if I ask them to verify that there are no dead pixels and/or dust under the screen before I leave the store? I am, after all, going to drop over $1,000 on the 64GB version + accessories!
     
  6. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #6
    If there is a single dead pixel, you don't have a case.

    If there are several, you do.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1721
     
  7. ijen0311 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ijen0311

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #7
    Thanks all! :D
     
  8. Maaz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    #8
    Yeah he does, I only had one dead pixel, on 3 different ipads and each time they replaced it with a new one, no hesitation.
     
  9. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #9
    Surprising.

    Won't last long though.
     
  10. blg123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    #10
    What I want to avoid is leaving the store with it, and finding it out a few days later. By then, they will no doubt be out of stock again. I'd prefer to find out and take care of it right in the store when I purchase it. Is there a way for them to run a test on the screen right away to find out if it's okay?
     
  11. Maaz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    #11
    Yeah, I think they only replaced it since it was launch day.
     
  12. pinksatin macrumors member

    pinksatin

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    columbus.ohio
    #12
    I think I have two dead pixels on mine... Would they return it and let me upgrade to the 3G version? Haha ok not likely but any thoughts?
     
  13. ijen0311 thread starter macrumors 65816

    ijen0311

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2009
    #13
    Got a replacement due to wifi issues without even a Q from the Genius. Very happy :D :apple:
     

Share This Page