German reading for beginner

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by lewis82, Feb 23, 2010.

1. lewis82 macrumors 68000

lewis82

I started learning german language by myself about a month ago (during my free time, that is) and I'm having problems finding stuff that is easy enough to read.

I found the website DW-world, which is good, and has interactive classes, but lacks easy beginner texts (texts that doesn't require constant trips to Dashboard to translate that new word I don't understand).

Does someone have any suggestions for free texts?

2. TSE macrumors 68030

Listening, listen to ndr2 web radio, it is German news channel except in really really slow motion. :D

3. lewis82 thread starter macrumors 68000

lewis82

Thanks, I'll have a look at that.

(Or Danke should have I said...)

Anyone else?

4. chown33 macrumors 604

Look for children's books that have been translated into German. You might have to visit a public library and talk to a children's librarian to get additional guidance. Also, some children's book sections in bookstores will have foreign-language translations of popular books, like "Die Katze in die Hatze" or "Eine Fisch, Zwei Fisch" or whatever.

I don't mean just little-kid books, either. There is quite a range of youth and children's literature that is translated into many languages. For example, you could probably find Madeleine L'Engle's "Wrinkle In Time" without a lot of difficulty. You might have to order it from Germany, or visit a specialty bookstore, or drop by your local high school and ask the German teacher how to order books in German.

5. lewis82 thread starter macrumors 68000

lewis82

I'll have a look at my local library but I highly doubt there will be any german books - On over 70 00 books there, there are barely 200 english books (purely speculative number, but the bookshelf is about 6 feet wide by 8 feet high).

As for the german teacher there is none. There are spanish teachers but I'm not interested...