Get a 15" rMBP now or wait Broadwell?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by educastro, Aug 15, 2014.

1. educastro macrumors newbie

Hey guys, I am a software engineering student from Brazil and I will spend the next year living and studying in US. As some of you know gadgets in Brazil are really expensive so this is a great opportunity to replace my late 2011 13" MacBook Pro with 8GB of RAM, SSD, etc. Pretty great machine that works really well for me but as this is an unique opportunity I'll replace it for a new one(a new 15" rMBP in Brazil costs about US$6000).

My plans was to sell my computer here in Brazil(for something around US$1200, used machines here costs about the same as a new one in USA) and get a "late 2014" 15" rMBP with broadwell processor, maybe something bigger than 16GB of RAM, an updated GPU(maybe GT8xxM) but that didn't happened and what we have today was just a minor upgrade. I don't really need all this power, I only want a computer with a bigger screen capable of running some great games and that will also be a great computer for the next 5~6 years.

What do you think? Is it better to already get the mid 2014 rMBP or take my currently 13" MacBook Pro with me to US and wait until the new 2015 rMBP with the updates that I were expecting for this year? I will stay in US until the end of August/2015 so until there I think that we'll see the next generation of rMBP.

2. 960design macrumors 68020

If your machine is working great and you don't need the power only the screen size AND you don't mind waiting at least 6 more months, probably 8-9 months then wait.

Having said that, I really try not to play the waiting game. I get what I need when I need it, no sooner, no later. Currently have a MBPr 15" maxed out about 2 months old. My next one will probably have the Cannonlake processor.

3. happygodavid, Aug 15, 2014
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2014

happygodavid macrumors member

happygodavid