Get a pro now, wait, or get a surface?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by streetfoldsfive, Feb 21, 2016.

1. streetfoldsfive macrumors 6502

streetfoldsfive

Hello all!

I'm currently on the search for a new portable device. I'm a college student who currently has a Late 2012 fully speced iMac that has, for some unknown reason, gotten extreemly slow. I've also developed a need for a portable device. As a result, I'm on the search.

As it stands i'm debating between a Macbook pro and a Surface pro 4.

If I needed to do photoshop, premiere, audacity, etc... would the March 2015 Macbook pro (i5, 8gb, 2.7GHX) suffice? It can be had for 1269 refurbished. The only think i'm worried about is that the laptop is already a year old. Though this seems like a decent price.

My other option is the Surface pro 4 (i5, 8GB, 256gb). I think the surface is a wickedly cool device and would be a fun device to have. after specing up and getting the type cover i'm looking at about 1400+ However, I'm concerned about switching to windows and supposedly the device can be unreliable and buggy?

Anyone have any insight?

2. Closingracer macrumors 68000

It's a good device and it's not a year old...yet. The battery life is the one problem I had with the surface pro 4 which is why I have a Macbook

3. streetfoldsfive thread starter macrumors 6502

streetfoldsfive

Yeah that seems to be another complaint about the SP4. I honestly can't tell if I want the SP4 just because of the novelty. The whole touch screen and pen and tablet hybrid are cool, but i don't know how much I would actually use that.

4. Closingracer macrumors 68000

Oh as a windows guy I love the device. Just that I need it for school so I need it to last all day. I am very happy with my Macbook Pro

5. streetfoldsfive thread starter macrumors 6502

streetfoldsfive

Going to be using mine at school as well. Do you mind if I ask about the specs of your MBP? I'm concerned about the longevity and use of programs like PS.