Get AppleCare for upgraded whitebook? Or go for 2.4 GHz MacBook instead?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Rosee, May 30, 2009.

1. Rosee macrumors newbie

Hi - I'm a grad student just buying my first Mac and seeking advice from those more experienced. I intend to use the computer for normal student things – music, data analysis, video coding, and writing.

This past week with the start of the iTouch promotion, I was keen to buy the new unibody model. I learned, however, that the whitebook model had upgraded specs, better than those offered in the entry-level unibody! This leads me to a few questions:

1) Although tempted by aesthetics of the aluminum body, I can’t justify spending $300 more for that model when the specs are worse (e.g., 2.0 vs. 2.13 in the upgraded white), but maybe should consider purchasing the 2.4 GHz unibody? Thoughts?

2) If I go for the old whitebook ($1049 in Canada after the EOL discount) instead of the 2.4 GHz ($1649) should I really get AppleCare?

3) Applecare on both computers is $299 (pricey!). I do believe that extended warranty is a good idea for laptops – but its value seems better on the $1649 computer?

What are people’s thoughts on spending $299 warranty on a computer that is only $1049?

4) Should I consider only buying Applecare after 1 years time if I haven’t dropped the white notebook or spilled on it or whatever…

5) Would Applecare irregardless maybe be a good idea b/c if it busts in 2.5 years, maybe I can get upgraded to a newer model b/c the white Macbook won’t be around anymore?

Help!!! Want to purchase ASAP. Thanks in advance

2. student_trap macrumors 68000

student_trap

for me, the white macbook represents some of the best value on the entire apple store. The design of the thing is pretty awesome too, in fact, lots of my friends prefer the more apple-like white look!