Get cydia error??

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ReleasedAce, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. ReleasedAce macrumors newbie

    ReleasedAce

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #1
    i just jailbroke my 3g with redsnow im running 3.0 and cydia says i need to do essential upgrades but when i try i keep getting an error
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  3. ReleasedAce thread starter macrumors newbie

    ReleasedAce

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
  4. ReleasedAce thread starter macrumors newbie

    ReleasedAce

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #4
    yes im still getting error trying to do cydia updates
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    Maybe its a cydia problem.
    What error does it give you?
     
  6. ReleasedAce thread starter macrumors newbie

    ReleasedAce

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #6
    it says " couldnt configure pre-depend dpkg for ncurses, probably a dependency cycle
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Weird bro.
    Maybe try hitting a hard reset to see if that does anything?
     
  8. ReleasedAce thread starter macrumors newbie

    ReleasedAce

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #8
    ok and icy works fine its just cydia its weird
     
  9. Mess macrumors 6502

    Mess

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
    #9
    Im getting the same issue.

    I thought it may be something to do with icy being installed so im currently restoring the phone to jb again without icy to see if that helps.

    Will let you know if it does.
     
  10. finatk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #10
    jailbroke last night using ReDsn0w, and the same is happening to me, cydia needs to update itself b4 anything will download correctly, there are 2 essential updates that keep failing. And i also clicked to install ICY and that doesnt seem to be working either. I'll for instance install five icon dock and respring my phone, then all the icons will be squished to the left side of the dock.

    Bad JB? if so im going to download another copy of redsn0w from a different source and give that a shot.

    Quick Pwn is still saying its going to be released for 3.0 from the dev team so may be worth waiting till then.
     
  11. Mess macrumors 6502

    Mess

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
    #11
    well i restored and re-jailbroke without icy installed and cydia so far seems to be working fine.

    It could be that as said earlier that cydia needs to be opened first before icy so it can install updates etc.

    Andy
     
  12. finatk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #12
    Can confirm that the above is true, re-jailbroke with redsn0w just now but only had cydia installed instead of cydia & ICY and all updates downloaded correctly and cydia is working fine :)
     
  13. prosynk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #14
    This method also worked for me. I was getting the repeated ncurses dependency errors as well, but re-jailbreaking without Icy fixed the Cydia update with no issue.
     
  14. mantic macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Location:
    AL
    #15
    Yeah, I jailbroke last night and was hoping i'd be able to mess around with my phone today at work. Looks like i'll have to hold off until i can rejailbreak. Maybe one of my coworkers has a data chord i can borrow.
     
  15. ReleasedAce thread starter macrumors newbie

    ReleasedAce

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    #16
    I will try when I get home and see if rejailbreaking works. So do I just restore and backup my stuff and then rejailbreak it?
     
  16. prosynk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #17
    I didn't even restore. I just used the modified .ipsw from the initial redsn0w jailbreak and ran redsn0w again. (This was only because I'm using a computer that is not my normal sync device)
     
  17. psyntium macrumors newbie

    psyntium

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #18
    possible solution: install ncureses via Icy

    hi,

    i think u can try to install ncurses using Icy first, then try to update Cydia again. I'm trying this, but Cydia hanged after updating. So, need to force shut down, and now I'm restarting. I'll let you know if got good news. ^_^
     
  18. FCzenit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    Location:
    Westbury, NY
    #19
    Installed without Icy and everything worked like always. Ran Icy before cydia the first time around so thats probably what caused the problem.:D
     
  19. Mess macrumors 6502

    Mess

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK
    #20
    Glad my solution helped you guys.

    I take it this way didnt work? :rolleyes:
     
  20. glacies macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #21
    Thanks for this tip

    re-jailbreaking with redsn0w works like a charm

    no need to restore the FW again
     
  21. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #22
    I can't add sources. Get an error.

    I did Pwnage Simple mode
     
  22. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #23
    I had issues with redsn0w 0.7.1, so I jb'ed with 0.7.2, and it works much better for me. Anyone else try that?
     
  23. iShater macrumors 604

    iShater

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #24
    Thanks for the update. I had the same problem. Will give it a shot tonight. :D
     
  24. sabotage79 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    #25
    Rerun redsn0w without icy, and this solved my cydia issue. I didn't restore to 3.0, I just reran redsn0w. Give it a show.
     

Share This Page