get international SIM in Brazil

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by sou1 so1di3r, Feb 13, 2014.

  1. sou1 so1di3r macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #1
    I'll be traveling to Brazil in April and want to get a SIM for my iPhone 5S.

    I have verizon in the USA currently. Will I be able to walk into any shop and just buy a nano-SIM?

    Any recommendation on carriers? I'll be in Sao Paulo and then travelling to Rio.
     
  2. ml.sail1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #2
    Unfortunately, to even purchase a sim card in Brazil you are required to have a CPF (The equivalent of our social security #). If you know someone there who has one (citizens/legal residents) you could get a prepaid sim card with their help.

    I would suggest going the carrier Vivo as they are known to have the best coverage. Note that when going "out of state" you will be charged for roaming in Brazil. I was there for most of August and traveled from Rio de Janeiro to Espiritu Santo, and my $20 balance was depleted nearly instantly.
     
  3. sou1 so1di3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #3
    So I do have a friend in Rio. Would he have to buy it for me or could I just use his CPF number? Reason is I am starting in SAO and won't see him until a week after I arrive in Brazil.

    I will be driving along the coast from SAO to RIO... sound sounds like I might be roaming?
     
  4. ml.sail1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #4
    I'm thinking he would have to buy it for you, merely by the fact that when I went into the store they actually took my friend's ID/CPF card to run it through a check or something like that.

    RJ and SP are in two different states so you could face some roaming charges.
     
  5. sou1 so1di3r thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sou1 so1di3r

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #5
    hmm shoot... sounds like I may be totally out of luck then. might have to be off the grid... ****.
     
  6. ml.sail1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    #6
    Just a thought, but I wonder if you were to buy a T-Mobile sim and activate a "new line" for one month for the $50, if you could get the free international data roaming. You wouldn't be able to make calls (or they'd probably cost $$$) but you'd have unlimited 2g data, enough to send iMessages/Whatsapp/facebook message.
     

Share This Page