Get phone contact names over to macbook?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by npolly0212, Apr 19, 2016.

  1. npolly0212 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #1
    Hello all, I have a 2013 or 2013 macbook pro that the hard drive crashed on a few months ago. I also have a iPhone 6s+. Sadly I did not have a backup of everything anywhere.

    Since I have had a new hard drive put in I have yet to sync my iPhone with my macbook. So anytime I plug it in It tells me it would have to erase and restore the phone in order to sync it with the computer.

    I was wondering if there was anyone to avoid having to do so but still manage to get my contacts from my phone onto my computer so that when I use message on my mac it shows names instead of numbers?
     
  2. dwfaust macrumors 68040

    dwfaust

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    I am here => [•]
    #2
    Sync contacts and calendars via your iCloud account.
     
  3. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #3
    I have already tried this but it doesn't sync them over
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Search the app store for "vcard export" and you will see some free apps that can export the iPhone contacts to a vcard file. Then form the phone email that file to your Mac and OS X Contacts can import the vcard file.
     
  5. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #5
    Awesome, I appreciate it. gonna test it out after this class
     
  6. jsavvy macrumors member

    jsavvy

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #6
    When you log into iCloud . com on your mac do your contacts show up? If so, you can export all of them to vcards without downloading another program. If not, then you will have to go the other route and download an app on the phone.
     
  7. npolly0212 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    #7
    I just went ahead and used the app and that worked for me! I appreciate the help
     

Share This Page