get rid of start-up chime

Discussion in 'iMac' started by fourthline59, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. fourthline59 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #1
    I have a new iMac 27 inch. Is it possible to shut off that standard Mac sound it makes when it's booted up?
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    Nope, the only way to alter it is to mute the system before it's shut down or rebooted.
     
  3. spacepower7 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #4
    It's even worse with an Apple laptop in a classroom, especially in the middle of the class period.
     
  4. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #5
    Or keep a small el-cheapo headphone adapter plugged into it...
     
  5. David085 macrumors 6502a

    David085

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #6
    download the start up sound pref that will appear in system preferences and turn it all the way down and mute it, click here to download. ;)
     
  6. fourthline59 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #7
    Thanks for the suggestion.

    Kinda scary to see the words;

    "If your computer doesn't start up normally after installing this software..."
    "Before installing this software, I recommend that you to back up your important data."

    Has anyone used this with/without problems?
     
  7. fourthline59 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    #8
    I may play it safe and stick with turning the mute on before shutting down or using a headphone plug. Good tips, thanks.
     
  8. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    A good habit to get into is having it muted unless your using the sound to watch a video or something. That way you also don't get those annoying noises when you put stuff in the trash and the like. When you have the sound up the full and you put something in the trash on your Mac in the middle of a quiet classroom everyone will look at you - Try it :p
     
  9. Dalton63841 macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
    #10
    Is it just me, or do the system requirements specifically state PowerPC processor, and show no mention of Intel at all.
     
  10. David085 macrumors 6502a

    David085

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #11
    I install that on my new macbook pro 2010 a few days ago and it works fine. on intel.
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #12
    Seems to be just you, or are you seeing something entirely different than the following following the link you quoted?
    [​IMG]
     
  12. David085 macrumors 6502a

    David085

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    #13
    No I see the same exact thing but it works fine for me.
     
  13. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #14
    I actually meant:

    But now I think Dalton63841 means this:
     
  14. FruityTen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Location:
    Steel City
    #15
    ive tried to make it a habit of muting my imac because the chime can be rather annoying in the early hours!
     
  15. chrismacguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #16
    That will only work on PowerPC Macs. Intel Macs no-longer play the startup chime through the audio-out port if a device is there, preferring to always use the internal speaker - I think its because EFI doesnt support it, even though OF did.
     
  16. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #17
    I use it without problems on Snow Leopard. Make sure to use the Intel version on the download page.
     
  17. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #18
    I've been using it for a couple of years, no issues at all.
     
  18. Lukeyy19 macrumors 6502a

    Lukeyy19

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Location:
    England, UK
    #19
    i use StartupSound.prefpane on my 2010 Intel iMac, had no problems with it, i use it just to lower the volume of it though, but you can use it to lower the volume to 0.

    and as someone else said, the newer macs will still play the sound through the main speakers even if you plug headphones or speakers in.
     
  19. Stan Mikulenka macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    #20
    I'm using 3 different Sound enhancements on my Mac & they all work great.
    And I never had any prob. with Startup Sound:
     

    Attached Files:

  20. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

    mrsir2009

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #21
    The "startup sound" preference pane is supposed to work with any PPC or Intel Mac running Tiger or later. So I'm sure no one would have any troubles with it...?
     
  21. Dalton63841 macrumors 65816

    Dalton63841

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Location:
    SEMO, USA
    #22
    I was referring to their webpage, but from what has been said here it seems apparent that the webpage simply has not been updated.
     

Share This Page