Get the latest ATI drivers for x1600 mobile for mbp/imac!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by thedarkhorse, Apr 10, 2009.

  1. thedarkhorse macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Ok, one of my biggest gripes with running bootcamp on my 2 and half year old macbook pro is that the only available graphics drivers that work are the ones from apple, and they are like 2 years old. Running recent games with old drivers is a pain because you know you aren't getting anywhere near the performance you should be getting, even though my x1600 is on the low end on the pc side it is adequate to run most any game rather smoothly with the proper settings, if you have the latest drivers.
    If you try to install drivers from ATI directly you get a message saying that your hardware is not supported, leaving you to apple's drivers only.



    What you need is this program, it's a utility that modifies the ATI drivers so they don't scan your system and check for the exact GPU.
    http://www.driverheaven.net/modtool.php


    Read the instructions on the page, you will also need to install MSXML 6.0 from Microsoft installed before installing modtool(at least for XP I believe)

    -So once you have the mod tool and MSXML 6.0 installed you go to ATI's website and download the latest drivers for the x1600 (desktop version, not mobility x1600).
    -Once the download is done run the driver and cancel the installation after it extracts all the files.
    -Then launch the mod tool program and a window will come up that lets you browse for the driver location, the default for location that it is extracted to is C:/ATI/SUPPORT and the driver folder will be called something like "9_3_xp32_dd_ccc_wdm_enu", pick that folder & then let the modtool run, after it's finished you are ready to install the modified drivers.

    To install the modded driver go to the C:/ATI/SUPPORT/9_3_xp32_dd_ccc_wdm_enu folder and find the setup.exe and run it.
    -after the drivers install it will tell you to reboot, do that and you are good to go.


    I'm now able to Run Fallout 3 at my screen's native resolution of 1440x900 with low/med settings rather smoothly without choppyness on my 128mb x1600, before with apple's 2 year old drivers I could barely squeeze out 1200x800 on the lowest settings and it was still choppy.
     
  2. beatledud macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    #2
    I posted on the modtools forum how I can not get this work, but any ideas on how to the get this to work with the radeon mobiel x1600 and Windows 7 64 bit?
     
  3. Animalk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
    #3
    I highly suspect this will greatly increase the risk of hardware failure due to heat. You are taking a serious risk by doing this in my opinion but I may just be a wuss.
     
  4. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #4
    Its quite common and has been in use since bootcamp has been around. I have been using it on my 3 iMacs (X1600 and HD2600) for the last 1 1/2 years with no problems. I haven't upgraded the drivers in over a year, however, so I might give the new ones a go.
     
  5. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #5
    Just as an aside, the 9.3 drivers will be that last revision from ATI for the X1600.

    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownlo...spx?type=2.4.1&product=2.4.1.3.9&lang=English

    I am actually surprised they have lasted this long.
     
  6. Thedutchjelle macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    #6
    Hello all,

    Sorry if this is considered to be to necro-ish. However, since I'm using the method explained in the OP post, I decided that making a new thread would only add to the confusion.

    I am using an white imac 21 inch with an ATI Radeon X1600.
    Before I used the method explained in the OP post, it would list it as an ATI Radeon X1600 in the 'hardware' tab with 8.450.0.0 (or something quite similiar) as it's driver.

    However, now it's an 'ATI MOBILITY Radeon X1600' with driver '8.593.100.0'
    How do I make it a normal ATI Radeon but with the higher driver? I downloaded the package from
    http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownloa...9&lang=English
    Or am I being stupid and was it an ATI Mobility all along, and now it says so in the name as well? I'm kinda unused to all this driver/hardware stuff, so please excuse me if I'm being stupid :(
     
  7. borcanm macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    #7
    Theres nothing wrong your card is a mobility card, which are the cards used in all portable devices.
     

Share This Page