Get Your Carrier Logo Back on Jailbroken 3.1

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by thelatinist, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #1
    For anyone sick of having their AT&T carrier logo missing, it's pretty easy to make it show up again. I don't know what would happen if you roam on another network using this method. This method was adapted from a method discovered by PurpleMan and blogged by Hara Taiki

    This method uses iFile, a shareware application in Cydia. If you use it and enjoy it, please register it. It's really cool.

    1) Open iFile.
    2) Browse to /private/var/mobile/Library/Carrier Bundles/ATT_US.bundle
    3) Open the file carrier.plst.
    4) Click the Edit button.
    5) Find the portion of the file that reads:
    Code:
    <array>
    <dict>
    <key>AllowPrefixMatching</key>
    <false/>
    <key>CarrierName</key>
    <string>at&t</string>
    <key>DefaultImage</key>
    <string>Default_CARRIER_ATT.png</string>
    <key>FullScreenOpaqueImage</key>
    <string>FSO_CARRIER_ATT.png</string>
    </dict>
    6) Immediately below this text, paste the following:
    Code:
    <dict>
    <key>AllowPrefixMatching</key>
    <false/>
    <key>CarrierName</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>DefaultImage</key>
    <string>Default_CARRIER_ATT.png</string>
    <key>FullScreenOpaqueImage</key>
    <string>FSO_CARRIER_ATT.png</string>
    </dict>
    7) Save file, close iFile, and reboot.

    You should now have your carrier back!

    Notes:
    1) The text you pasted in step 6 is the same you located in step 5, but with an empty string for CarrierName. I simply copy-pasted the text and deleted "at&t")
    2) This should works fine with AT&T Carrier Logo from Cydia.
    3) This method should work fine for other carriers. Just modify to reflect your carrier's bundle and logo files.
    4) This is of course just a cosmetic fix, and it does not return the carrier name to Settings>General>About.
     
  2. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #2
    Or you can just look for the free fake carrier app in Cydia and do it that way.
     
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    In order for this to work, the <array> needs to be removed from the pasted text (see red text above), One to many "arrays"

    But, this does restore the AT&T logo to status bar but it's just cosmetic.

    Thanks for the heads up !
     
  4. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
  5. thelatinist thread starter macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #5
    Thanks for catching that! Too much copy-pasting for me.

    Yes, this is true. But I have heard so many people complaining elsewhere about the missing carrier logo that I thought it worth posting here.

    SpaceKitty: I don't think FakeCarrier will allow you to set the original .png files for the null carrier, will it? It also won't work with carrier themes from Cydia.
     
  6. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #6
    what about 3rd party carriers?

    I am in the UK with Orange and I do not know which of the many orange carrirer folders in unknown to use
     
  7. thelatinist thread starter macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #7
    I'm not sure about that. And I have no way of testing it, since I'm in the US. Wish I could help!
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    Was you baseband updated to 5.11.xx ?

    From what I have read, this is a glitch between the 4.26.xx baseband and the 3.1 firmware.

    I have read (and I can sort of verify this) that if your baseband is at 4.26 and you update to 3.1 (Obviuosly JB firmware) the carrier logo goes AWOL.

    If your baseband is at 5.11 and you go to either 3.1 official or 3.1 JB, the logo is fine.

    My phone is at 4.26 and I don't have logo and Not Available shows in Settings/General/About .

    My wife's phone is at 5.11 and she does have logo and AT&T shows in Settings/General/About/network box
     
  9. thelatinist thread starter macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #9
    I've read that it's a change in the way the baseband reports the carrier to the OS. People who've upgraded to 3.1 but kept the old baseband have a null carrier string reported to the OS no matter what carrier's network they are on. That's why the fix I made above is dangerous for those who might roam on a foreign network.
     
  10. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #10
    Sounds exactly right, as I finally JB my wife's 3G again this morning. It had been on official 3.1 so the baseband went to 5.11. The carrier logo and Network in settings/general/about correctly reported as AT&T. My 3G still on 4.26 of course didn't.

    Later !
     
  11. jason221 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #11
    Thanks, it gets the logo back. Unfortunately, About>Network still says "Not Available" but I don't look at that on a consistent basis.
     
  12. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #12
    I can confirm this also works for /System/Library/Carrier Bundles/Unknown.bundle/carrier.plist

    you need to find your carrier's exact name (there can be multiple) and then just add what is in the first post. I am running a 3.1 iPhone with an Orange sim in the UK.

    Searched to find this:
    Code:
    <dict>
    <key>AllowPrefixMatching</key>
    <false/>
    <key>CarrierName</key>
    <string>Orange</string>
    <key>DefaultImage</key>
    <string>Default_CARRIER_Orange.png</string>
    <key>FullScreenOpaqueImage</key>
    <string>FSO_CARRIER_Orange.png</string>
    </dict>
    
    and added this on the next line after </dict> from the above:
    Code:
    <dict>
    <key>AllowPrefixMatching</key>
    <false/>
    <key>CarrierName</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>DefaultImage</key>
    <string>Default_CARRIER_Orange.png</string>
    <key>FullScreenOpaqueImage</key>
    <string>FSO_CARRIER_Orange.png</string>
    </dict>
    
    This is merely cosmetic the settings menu still shows a blank carrier
     
  13. billinaz macrumors 6502

    billinaz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    Goodyear AZ.... for now.
    #13
    Dont know why I cannot get this to work (Im on ATT)

    When I went to 3.1 and JB it (I have a 3GS) the logo for the carrier went away... and Ive tried all these carrier plist edits but still cannot get the carrier to come back.

    Yes, Im on modem 4.26.08


    Arrrgh. Anyone want to take a shot at getting it working??

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    <key>AllowEDGEEditing</key>
    <true/>
    <key>AllowMMSCEditing</key>
    <true/>
    <key>AllowMMSEditing</key>
    <true/>
    <key>BookmarkURLs</key>
    <array>
    <dict>
    <key>BookmarkName</key>
    <string>AT&T MyAccount</string>
    <key>BookmarkURL</key>
    <string>https://www.wireless.att.com/my-account</string>
    </dict>
    </array>
    <key>CarrierName</key>
    <string>AT&T</string>
    <key>CustomerServicePhoneNumber</key>
    <string>611</string>
    <key>IntlDataRoamingExceptions</key>
    <array>
    <string>310110</string>
    <string>310140</string>
    <string>310470</string>
    </array>
    <key>IntlDataRoamingSwitch</key>
    <true/>
    <key>MyAccountURL</key>
    <string>https://www.wireless.att.com/my-account</string>
    <key>MyAccountURLTitle</key>
    <string>AT&T MyAccount</string>
    <key>SMTPServers</key>
    <array>
    <string>cwmx.com:25</string>
    </array>
    <key>Services</key>
    <array>
    <dict>
    <key>ServiceCode</key>
    <string>*225#</string>
    <key>ServiceName</key>
    <string>Check Bill Balance</string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>ServiceCode</key>
    <string>411</string>
    <key>ServiceName</key>
    <string>Directory Assistance</string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>ServiceCode</key>
    <string>*729</string>
    <key>ServiceName</key>
    <string>Pay My Bill</string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>ServiceCode</key>
    <string>*646#</string>
    <key>ServiceName</key>
    <string>View My Minutes</string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>ServiceCode</key>
    <string>*08</string>
    <key>ServiceName</key>
    <string>Voice Connect</string>
    </dict>
    </array>
    <key>ShowCallForwarded</key>
    <false/>
    <key>ShowCallForwarding</key>
    <false/>
    <key>ShowDialAssist</key>
    <true/>
    <key>ShowTTY</key>
    <true/>
    <key>StatusBarImages</key>
    <array>
    <dict>
    <key>AllowPrefixMatching</key>
    <false/>
    <key>CarrierName</key>
    <string>at&t</string>
    <key>DefaultImage</key>
    <string>Default_CARRIER_ATT.png</string>
    <key>FullScreenOpaqueImage</key>
    <string>FSO_CARRIER_ATT.png</string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>AllowPrefixMatching</key>
    <false/>
    <key>CarrierName</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>DefaultImage</key>
    <string>Default_CARRIER_ATT.png</string>
    <key>FullScreenOpaqueImage</key>
    <string>FSO_CARRIER_ATT.png</string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>AllowPrefixMatching</key>
    <false/>
    <key>CarrierName</key>
    <string>AT&T MicroCell</string>
    <key>DefaultImage</key>
    <string>Default_CARRIER_ATT M-Cell.png</string>
    <key>FullScreenOpaqueImage</key>
    <string>FSO_CARRIER_ATT M-Cell.png</string>
    </dict>
    </array>
    <key>StockSymboli</key>
    <array>
    <dict>
    <key>name</key>
    <string>AT&T</string>
    <key>symbol</key>
    <string>T</string>
    </dict>
    </array>
    <key>SupportedSIMs</key>
    <array>
    <string>310150</string>
    <string>310170</string>
    <string>310180</string>
    <string>310380</string>
    <string>310410</string>
    <string>310980</string>
    <string>311180</string>
    </array>
    <key>SupportsNITZ</key>
    <true/>
    <key>SupportsUserBusyCauseCode</key>
    <false/>
    <key>VVMIgnoresIntlDataRoaming</key>
    <false/>
    <key>VisualVoicemailServiceName</key>
    <string>ACDS</string>
    <key>VoicemailPasswordResetPhoneNumber</key>
    <string>611</string>
    <key>apns</key>
    <array>
    <dict>
    <key>IsAPNUserEditable</key>
    <true/>
    <key>apn</key>
    <string>acds.voicemail</string>
    <key>password</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>type-mask</key>
    <integer>-2</integer>
    <key>username</key>
    <string></string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>IsAPNUserEditable</key>
    <true/>
    <key>apn</key>
    <string>acds.voicemail</string>
    <key>password</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>username</key>
    <string></string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>IsAPNUserEditable</key>
    <true/>
    <key>apn</key>
    <string>internet</string>
    <key>password</key>
    <string>password</string>
    <key>username</key>
    <string>iphone</string>
    </dict>
    </array>
    <key>mms_proxy</key>
    <string>066.209.011.032</string>
    <key>mms_proxy_port</key>
    <string>80</string>
    <key>mmsc</key>
    <string>http://mmsc.cingular.com</string>
    <key>voicemail_context</key>
    <integer>1</integer>
    </dict>
    </plist>
     
  14. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #14
    Just as an update to this, once you use this plist mod to install your logo (Not text >>> not MakeItMine) you can replace the logo with your own custom one or one from Cydia

    [​IMG]
     
  15. C is for COOKIE macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    #15
    Thanks for this :) Now to try and find the O2 Carrier logos...
     
  16. crezaee macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    #16
    DHLizard

    DHLIZARD, This is completely off topic forgive me. But I love your home screen, what are you using to get all of that on there? I've used Intelliscreen but it doesn't look as clean as what you are using. Please let me know...
     
  17. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    LockScreen is LockInfo Full with lots of modifications
     
  18. billinaz macrumors 6502

    billinaz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    Goodyear AZ.... for now.
    #18
    Hey DHLIZARD, can you do me a favor and just send me the plist you have so I can try that?

    I still cannot get mine working.

    THANKS
     
  19. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #19
    which carrier are you trying to get to work? cause there are three listed in the plist
     
  20. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #20
    Every set of instructions is different in some minor way, usually in what is in the last part of the string, in this example.... FSO_CARRIER_ATT.png

    The other groups will have something different in that string.

    Attention to detail is the key with this.

    Here is an October Christmas present for those on AT&T....
     

    Attached Files:

  21. dartrax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    #21
    I can confirm this also works for /private/var/mobile/Library/Carrier Bundle.bundle if you have a German T-Mobile iPhone (3G).

    Below is my modded carrier.plist.

    dartrax
     

    Attached Files:

  22. farmermac macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    #22
    I'm not so concerned with carrier name as much as I am with functionality. I'm on a small local tmobile gsm partner network in the us and when I leave my area of the state I roam on AT&T or tmobile. I'm assuming the phone will still switch networks fine just not report what network it's on?
     
  23. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #23
    Yep, if you have to roam, that could be an issue not seeing which carrier you are using.
     
  24. navigates macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #25
    I'll be traveling and should have never upgraded to 3.1.2 with the old baseband. Will try to downgrade in a short while
     

Share This Page